This is my blog…nacho blog

Fake Sugar

You know that pisses me off? When people tell me I shouldn’t eat or drink things with fake sugars (Aspertame, Splenda, Stevia, Truvia etc.). When you have diabetes, these “fake sugars” are your friends! Refined sugars are everywhere. And if I was to make them a part of my regular diet (instead of subbing “fake sugars” whenever possible) my insulin need (and costs) would triple At LEAST.

It also upsets me when I hear that there are studies out there claiming that insulin (produced by chemists – not the naturally occurring kind) causes cancer. Well thanks, now you make me choose between TWO terrible diseases? Well, I know I have diabetes and can continue to take care of myself and that’s all for now. If I get cancer? Well, I’ll wait & cross that bridge when I come to it thanks. I can’t sit around and put off taking care of myself in the meantime and most certainly die of complications (my guess would be within days – a month at most) from diabetes in order to hope to put my chances of possibly developing cancer at some point down the road.

What good do these studies do? How much good news does a PWD have to look forward to? Why not focus the time, energy & financial resources devoted to doing nothing but providing a negative opinion and pointless information to finding a cure? Wouldn’t that be so much more productive and useful? Yeah, I thought so. XO

2 responses

  1. Dawn

    Agree, agree, agree!

    October 26, 2010 at 3:01 pm

  2. GREAT POST!

    And while Aspertame is rat poison, Stevia’s pretty good stuff. And, besides, what do they expect from you? Increasing your risk of dying from diabetes to reduce your risk of possibly getting cancer from a substance nobody’s linked conclusively to it yet?

    October 26, 2010 at 3:39 pm

Leave a comment