This is my blog…nacho blog

My Dream Wedding

The love I received from last week’s post on depression and anxiety was overwhelming and amazingly healing. I knew all along I wasn’t alone with my mental demons & thanks to those who gave me virtual hugs with your kind comments. However, the post was a bit dark so I thought I’d post a little pick me up today. This past weekend we had our third wedding IN A ROW. July 31st, August 6th and August 14th. Whew! Glad that’s over. Well, not really because I’m a bridesmaid on October 2nd and we’re expecting another (possible) invite or two any day now. It’s exhausting. But me? I LOVE weddings. The first wedding I remember attending was in 1988 and it was in Calgary. The bride walked down the aisle to John Lennon’s “Imagine” sung by a woman who was accompanied by an acoustic guitar. At that moment? I was done for.

I’ve been in more weddings than I can count. The movie 27 Dresses? Could be my life. One summer I was a maid of honor twice in one month’s time ::facepalm::. I’ve done it all. From singing as the bride & groom look on (while I nervously warble hopefully on key. Yes, I even forgot the words once), to standing beside good friends or family as they recite their vows. To helping friends pick dinner menus, cakes, music etc. When it was time to plan my wedding? Loved it! I knew exactly what I wanted, who I wanted to do it and where I wanted it done. I mean, don’t most girls dream of their wedding day their entire lives (c’mon – I know it’s not just me!)? I wouldn’t say I was a Bridezilla (although I bet Sis would disagree) but I was sure of what I wanted. Kind of.

I’d always dreamt of getting married on a beach. Getting married with my bare feet in the ocean and the salty breeze and sunset creating the most beautiful day. BDNF’s mom and mine had other plans. They wanted something more traditional. So we did that. I’m glad I did it now but, at the time it wasn’t what I wanted. We had a church wedding where my minister (I’m Protestant) and his (Catholic – duh!) priest co-officiated. The flowers, my girls, our getaway car – beautiful! The food was fantastic. The dancing never stopped. My cousin, who was seriously pregnant at the time – said it was the best wedding she’d ever been to. And she couldn’t drink! I took that as a HUGE compliment.

Since my own wedding, I’ve helped friends plan theirs. My duties range from playing liaison on the big day to doing (or taking part in) every detail of the planning. My dream is to do this full time but living in Vermont – not much of a market for it. I’m still enjoying it anyway. But with all the planning I’m doing for other people, I can’t help but think about the day FF & I get married. Yes, we’ve discussed it. Yes, it’s something in our future. When? Who knows. We’ve both been there before and we know we’re all for reals and eternity so there’s no rush. But there kind of is. There is something about standing before the people you love most in the world and declaring your everlasting love for someone. Cheesy? Maybe, but clearly so am I. So today, I share the details of my someday wedding. FF & I have discussed this subject (he would say ad nauseum) and we have agreed on every detail so far (yes, he wants an active role AND the same things as me – score!). Ok, some of these details have been mentioned in passing but not discussed but, whatev 😉

This is the engagement ring I picked out. I prefer pearls over diamonds and I ADORE Celtic designs (the culture not the sports team – eff Shaq by the way!). Oh, and the price? SUPER affordable ($59!!!!)

I would love these wedding bands. The inscription reads, “Mo Anam Cara” which is Gaelic for “Soul Friend” and I find that not only to be a perfect description of what FF & I share, but incredibly romantic. FF has stated he doesn’t want to wear a ring every day. He’s not a jewelry guy – not even a watch. But he said he would get one for the sake of our ceremony & to wear on certain special occasions. He told me this VERY early on, so I’m ok with it 🙂

I plan on having my dress made for me. I know exactly what I want and I can’t find a picture of it anywhere. But it will be breezy, and comfortable & make me feel like the most beautiful bride on earth. Maybe my mom would make it? However, I do know how I’d like to wear my hair and it’s just like this.

We’d like to have a beach wedding. In Maine. With just my parents, sister, brother in law (and nephews!) and FF’s mom. That is all! I found a place called The Colony Hotel that offers beachside ceremonies at a reasonable rate. My passion for weddings? It’s really all about the ceremony for me. Isn’t that what a wedding SHOULD be about? The vows and promises? After all, a party doesn’t make you man & wife – the pledges you make to each other for a lifetime do. I’ve written quite a few ceremonies and certainly know what I want for ours!

I’d carry a bouquet of calla lilies and Gerber daisies

And walk down the aisle to “Forever” by Ben Harper (Listen here. Lyrics here)

We’d have the wedding and a small intimate dinner with the “guests” and then FF & I would honeymoon for the whole week. We’d return to Vermont for a big ass party somewhere (ok, we know where we’d like it but I’m keeping that detail to myself – for now). We’d have a cake (or cupcakes!) but no cake cutting. No dollar dance. No bouquet or garter toss. We’d serve BBQ and plan a bonfire. It would be totally laid back and chill. We would not be there when everyone arrives. We would instead play a video or photo slideshow of our ceremony. Then, at the end of it, we’d be introduced. FF chose the song for our introduction. “Let it Rock” by Kevin Rudolf (Listen. Lyrics)

And then we would dance to “Our Song” which FF also picked and which we have never actually danced to: “Nothing Else Matters” by Metallica (Listen. Lyrics)

I would dance with my father to Grace Potter’s “Colors” (Listen. Lyrics)

FF’s not sure if he wants a special dance with his mom (although they have a fantastic relationship! I love the way he loves his mom! And vice versa!). But I think the perfect song would be “The One Who Knows” by Dar Williams (Listen. Lyrics)

And we, our family and our friends would dance the night away celebrating a truly amazing love. XOXO

6 responses

  1. DUDE! Where did you find that ring!? The design (trinity knot) is what my tatoo is of 🙂

    August 16, 2010 at 11:07 am

  2. Wow! You have put some SERIOUS thought into this! I’m one of those girls who has not been dreaming of her wedding since childhood. I could not care less if I tried. I want to get married by a Justice of the Peace in Promised Land, just so I can say I was married in The Promised Land. The end. 🙂

    August 16, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    • Guilty! With that being said though, doing so much work for other people’s weddings I couldn’t help but pick things that I liked 🙂

      August 16, 2010 at 5:01 pm

  3. Pingback: Saucy Gets Married | Nachoblog's Blog

  4. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you might be
    a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will come back in
    the future. I want to encourage you continue your great writing, have a nice evening!

    May 10, 2013 at 2:52 am

Leave a comment