This is my blog…nacho blog

Saucy Gets Married

Hey all! Long time no chat! So I’m sure you found your way here because you heard the announcement…FF & I are getting married! I figured you were probably wondering how this all came to be and are imagining all the romanticism involved with getting engaged. If that’s what you’re here for you may as well turn around and go home cuz you won’t find that. You have to remember that FF & I are not your typical couple. We have never done anything the conventional way and that continues right into this situation. Onto the story…

We have been discussing getting married for quite some time. I came up with a date several years ago because I wanted something very specific – a full moon, on a Saturday in the summer. I wanted this because FF & I had decided we very much wanted to get married IN the ocean (like our feet dipped in the water – not a scuba wedding. Although, how cool?!) and I thought about how breathtaking it would be to get some shots along the water’s edge with a giant full moon in the background. Gorgeous, no? So the date I found was 7/12/14. We’ve kept that date in the back of our heads since and have continued talking about what we do and don’t want but we hadn’t really moved beyond the dreaming stage. Until a few weeks ago.

You may or may not know that FF & I traveled to Parris Island, SC at the beginning of March as his little brother was graduating from Marine Corps Basic Training (have you ever been to a military graduation? WOW! Amazing! All the precision made my lil OCD heart very happy!). While we were there I brought up that our date was about 15 months away and if we were serious about that date we should probably let his brother know so he could arrange for leave because his presence was absolutely required by FF. So, we went with it and at lunch after graduation with the whole family we told them we’d set a date. That was it. No ring, no bended knee, no hysterical crying. Just matter of fact, level headed decision making like we do. The following weekend we told his mom and aunt, my parents and my sister. And then we made it FB official – cuz y’all know it’s not official til you put it on Facebook!

So that’s it. That’s our engagement story. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. In fact, our engagement was much like my parents. One day (7/31/78) my dad said to my mom, “What would you say if I asked you to marry me?” So my mom started telling everyone they were engaged. Again, no ring, no bended knee. It was what it was. And 2.5 months later, they were married. Boom!

We’re already knee deep in planning and FF is as supportive and cooperative as I had hoped – even more so really. It helps that we’ve both worked in this industry for a long time and we’ve also both done this once before. We know what we want (intimate immediate family only ceremony along the ocean followed by a giant picnic themed bash at my BGF’s house the following week complete with kegs, bonfire and a tent. You can read more about our ultimate dreams for our wedding here) and what we don’t (anything that could be viewed as traditional). I will keep you all in the loop as planning progresses should you choose to keep coming back here and reading. I will be making a more concerted effort to post regularly as I’m beginning a new blogging adventure in the next few weeks that I will tell you more about as I am able. Until then, XOXO

3 responses

  1. A SCUBA wedding would be FABULOUS! And congratulations — it looks like you’re well on the way to the wedding (and life) of your dreams 🙂

    April 2, 2013 at 9:37 am

  2. Girl you know I’m soooo happy for you guys!!!! Loves you!!

    April 2, 2013 at 9:37 am

  3. I love this! And I think it’s sweet that your parents basically got engaged the same low-key way 🙂 Congrats and I’m excited for ya!

    April 2, 2013 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

