This is my blog…nacho blog

My Farewell Letter

As some of you know, I gave my notice at my current job last week. I will be starting a new job, in a new industry, next Tuesday. I am beyond excited. Anyone that follow’s my Twitter feed knows that I LOVE my job but I HATE the company I work for. Or more specifically WHO I work for. Before I leave on Thursday I will be sending this email to the man who made me want to leave this job. I wanted to share it with you. Why? Because it’s a free damn country and I can do what I want! LOL! Anyway, I’m posting it here to give you an inside track into what went wrong in a job I can see myself in forever. But my pride can’t be beaten and I know I’m coming out of this on top. xo

BOSS*,

 

I wanted to take a moment or two to reflect on the last year and a half since I began my employment here at ****. I’d like to first say thank you for the opportunity to work for a company that I believe in and that I will always remember. I was welcomed here with open arms and I will never, ever forget that. It felt like coming home. Maybe that’s because of my father’s printing background and how the smell of ink will always bring me back to running around press rooms as a little girl. Maybe it’s because I felt my skills surrounding social media and writing were so well used right away in my employment and there was such trust involved all around. I can’t pinpoint the exact reason but I do know I saw myself growing old at ****. I thought I had finally found a career path. And now, I’m leaving. Sounds strange after all the reasons I love this place. For that reason, I feel like I owe you an explanation.

My basic reasons for leaving here are not what many people’s motivation would be. It’s not for more money, better hours, superior benefits, more prestige – even though my new job does offer those things and then some. I am leaving **** because since shortly after my arrival my eyes were opened to the inner workings of this company. My self esteem and self confidence have taken big hits in the last several months and I learned a very long time ago that NOTHING is worth losing myself for. Not money. Not a job. Not anything.

I’m not going to go into a lot of detail here only because, it doesn’t really matter anymore. But I will give you a few examples of issues that arose or incidents that happened that left a bad taste in my mouth so that maybe you can get to a place where your employees respect you and actually look forward to coming to work and getting their jobs done.

  • When we had that big meeting about smoke breaks months ago, the biggest thing any of us said was that if you made this rule it would be followed IF the rule applied to everyone. It NEVER HAS. Your sister, and a manager, take several smoke breaks EVERY DAY. Your employees are not stupid regardless of how you feel or what you tell them (yes, you told me I was stupid one day. I will remember that for the rest of my life as well) and if you think this has gone unnoticed? You are wrong. This is a common theme here. There is a vast array of favoritism and as long as it continues you are at a high risk of losing good employees.
  • You have some incredibly hard working employees. While it’s nice to get a bonus around the holidays, it’s also nice to be told you’re doing a good job the whole year round. This place is SERIOUSLY lacking in appreciation. I think because to you, appreciation equals money. Yes, money is nice. No one ever has enough and everyone is thankful for more. But you’d be amazed how much a “Way to go!” comment can accomplish. Just knowing your hard work isn’t going unnoticed means a lot. Yes, a lunch for your employees once in a while would work too. It’s amazing how little it takes to raise workplace morale and how much of a difference it makes. And YOU don’t get to be the one to decide if your company has a morale problem. If your employees are mentioning it, you’re already losing them. And saying, “Good job TEAM” when you should be saying, “Good job Jess” says a lot. Another example? I worked really hard to bring in ****’s business knowing I would get no benefit from it other than giving me more work and therefore job stability. I did it anyway. And I fought to keep them happy. This was never once mentioned by you until AFTER I gave my notice. That’s sad. And too little, too late. I sent tens and tens of leads to **, *** and **** & just a “thanks” from them was nice. And one last thing on this subject – if you promise your employees a prize for completing a certain task (i.e bringing in 100+ new customers in a fiscal year) and you don’t follow through? They WILL remember. And they will stop trying so hard to please you.
  • Lastly, the straw that broke the camel’s back? The Flash Report. After months and months of feeling like I was being disrespected and underappreciated you then made me feel as if I wasn’t trusted either. And that’s just sad. If you feel someone is taking advantage of you – take care of the problem. That is was a GOOD supervisor/manager etc would do. Not punish an entire group of people. The fact that our presses are booked out 7-10 business days tells me your CSRs are getting their work done. Micromanaging only ever accomplishes the opposite of what you set out to do. And until you fully understand what EACH of your employees really does all day (hint, as a CSR I did A LOT more than enter orders and make cold calls. Also? Cold calls are NOT a CSR job, it’s a sales job. If I wanted to drum up business for you I would expect to be paid a commission on it) it will always look like a lot less when written on paper. I’m not writing down that I answered the phone 27 times, spoke with several customers for 10+ minutes and responded to over 100 emails – on top of entering 15+ orders, submitting 20 quotes for update, followed up on 6 quotes and 2 new orders. I’m all for being held accountable for my work but the orders I enter every day and the emails I send every day – both of which you track anyway through internal measures – speak for themselves. The day you (well, ***** through you) announced this report was the day I started looking for a new job. I was done at that moment.
  • Oh yeah, taking away our hour lunches was just unnecessary. I have a better handle on my workload than anyone – especially you. I worked through lunch or took shorter ones regularly before you enacted that policy. The only thing it made me do was to make sure I took every minute of that 30 minutes you so graciously allowed us to have away from the pressures of this desk and this job to collect my thoughts and prepare myself for the second half of the day. I never worked through my lunch again after that unless I was making up time for leaving early for an appointment and such.  

 

 I do believe you are a good person with a kind heart and that’s why I wrote this email. I knew if I sat down to tell you this I wouldn’t be able to get everything out for fear of hurting you. But at the same time, I feel I owe you this explanation. I owe it to the wonderful coworkers that I will miss so dearly who feel they can’t speak up for themselves or are ignored or degraded when they try. I owe it to myself to leave here with a clear conscience and my head held high. With all that said, I again would like to thank you for the opportunities I had here. I wish you nothing but the best in the future for this company and for your family. I will miss seeing your wife and laughing with your daughter and hearing about all of your son’s adventures living his dream. I very much plan on staying in touch and hard feelings are not my intention. I truly hope you can see that.

 

**** Identifying details have been changed to protect the innocent

Leave a Reply

