This is my blog…nacho blog

Searching For Sugar

I’ve been wrestling with something lately and what better way to hash it out than this here blog? I’ve been having trouble treating lows. And I’ve been having A LOT of them lately (not sure why really – thinking it’s all the heat & humidity. Sure, let’s blame that!). I seem to be having a super fun new low symptom too – nausea. Oh yeah, nothing like your body literally NEEDING to ingest carbs while your stomach flip flops. Super fun!

When I was first diagnosed, my go to for lows was PB crackers or regular soda – because they were readily available. Mind you I hadn’t drank regular Coke in years prior to my diagnosis because it was so sweet so I really didn’t like treating with it because it tasted so awful. Then I started with juice boxes. After a while that got old too. I switched to fruit snacks shortly after Ryan & I met and we would buy a box of the Welch’s fruit snacks at Costco at least once a month. After about 3 years I started not liking those (and when I say I started not to like something I mean it would be like pulling teeth to get me to treat a low) but discovered that Target (which we STILL don’t have here in Vermont – for shame!) carried 2 flavors I liked A LOT  (strawberry & tropical). Then I couldn’t stomach those anymore (I would actually dry heave if Ryan opened a package next to me because the smell was so nauseating). So I went back to juice boxes and/or raisins. I don’t love either of these options so I’ve decided to weigh the pros & cons of each of the low cures I have either used or heard of other people using in hopes of coming to some sort of usable conclusion. Here we go! (please keep in mind these pros & cons are according to MY opinions and experience – I’d love to hear yours!)

Fruit snacks

fruit snacks

Pros: Easily portable, long shelf life, inexpensive, correct dose of carbs

Cons: texture changes over time (ugh. So nasty)
Juice boxes

juice box

Pros: fast acting, easily portable, variety of flavors, correct dose of carbs

Cons: Can be heard to find exactly the right dose of carbs in an easily manageable size (if I need to drink more than 6oz to get my 15g? It ain’t gonna happen. Especially overnight and especially when in the 40s or lower and need closer to 30g), can be expensive, can be hard to open in the middle of the night during a low
Raisins

raisins

Pros: Quick, portable, easy dosing

Cons: texture changes over time. Attracts a lot of ants (yes, experience tells me this)
PB Crackers

Pb crackers

Pros: Delicious, nice balance of carbs & protein

Cons: Slow acting, need to eat all 6 to get 15g of carbs, not easily portable (they smoosh!)
Soda

soda

Pros: Fast acting

Cons: Hard to get correct dose, not easily portable but can be readily accessible

Glucose Tabs

glucose tabs

Pros: Fast acting, easily portable, variety of flavors

Cons: Chalky. So chalky. I HATE glucose tabs!

Jelly Beans

jelly beans

Pros: Fast acting, variety of flavors, small dose

Cons: hard to chew in the middle of the night during a low. Attract ants (again. Experience), Pricey (I will ONLY eat Jelly Belly’s and ONLY certain flavors so I have to buy them at a candy store)

Gels

gels

Pros: variety of flavors, easily portable, no chewing

Cons: pricey. Texture is a bit strange.

 

What do YOU use to treat your lows? What’s the WORST thing you’ve ever tried or heard of. Any advice for me on finding the perfect low cure? xo

7 responses

  1. I keep a Level gel, fruit snacks and glucose tabs in my purse for lows while I’m out and about. I also use the Apple & Eve juice boxes at home (treat and get veggies at the same time? Sure!).

    I also found the Go Go Squeeze applesauce pouches at Costco and they are probably my favorite way to treat and are really portable.

    July 15, 2013 at 11:07 am

    • Thanks Rachel! Those squeezable applesauces ARE yummy – and vitamin enriched to boot. Double score!

      July 15, 2013 at 5:00 pm

  2. I use Quick Sticks. Basically glucose tabs in powder form. Better flavors, less chalkiness

    July 15, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    • Thanks Doug! I have never heard of these! Are they like Pixie Stix? I want to try them now!

      July 15, 2013 at 5:00 pm

      • D G (@WyoWiseGuy)

        Pretty much like Pixue Stix. I like both the watermelon and sour apple. And 10g each

        July 15, 2013 at 5:03 pm

  3. In the past couple of years I too have had some nausea with some lows. Talk about a shitty combination, right? Ugh.

    I also cycle through low treatments, depending on taste, availability, etc. Sometimes even just what’s on sale. I am a big fan of GlucoLift tabs, but maybe that’s just because I like the guy who makes them. 🙂

    July 22, 2013 at 8:39 pm

  4. I can tell you the weirdest thing I’ve treated a low with (and somewhat unpleasant, and yet not…) was some individual CoffeeMate flavored creamers. They were french vanilla, so it was kind of like drinking tiny shots of watery melted ice cream. I think I downed six of them because I literally had nothing else at my office that day, and at 48 mg/dl, I needed something. I didn’t want to drink some stranger’s Coke from the fridge. I don’t recommend it.

    My mom used to carry tubes of CakeMate frosting around, just in case. Kinda like Level gels, but more like something that would actually be on a cake in terms of texture.

    July 25, 2013 at 3:40 pm

Leave a Reply

