This is my blog…nacho blog

Life is Short, Laundry is Eternal: A Review

First word? WOW! I’ve been wanting to read Scott‘s book since I first heard it was being published. It was on the wishlist I keep for when Ryan needs a gift idea or we just have a few extra bucks lying around for a “luxury” purchase (when did books become a luxury purchase? WHY DO I FEEL LIKE AN ADULT?!). Well, thanks to Tony and his #FreeShitFriday, I didn’t have to wait any longer. Tony had asked via Twitter what book about diabetes you’ve been wanting to read but haven’t. I immediately responded that Life is Short, Laundry is Eternal was A#1 on my “To Read” list (for all books really, not just ones about diabetes!) Well, by Tuesday my book had arrived (thanks again Tony – you are the best!) and while I was anxious to read it, I was in the middle of another book that I was enjoying (anyone else out there read The Celestra Series by Addison Moore? Loved Book 1. Will read book 2 soon. Would love opinions!) and honestly, I’ve had a terrible book hangover since I read Jodi Picoult’s “The Storyteller” in March. Well, it feels great to say I’ve read 2 books in a week and I think I’m back to stay on the reading train for awhile. With that said, I’d like to tell you all about how much I loved Scott’s book and why.

9781938170157_p0_v2_s260x420

I must start off by saying that this book will make you laugh out loud AND cry so be wary of where you read (if you care about such things. I don’t. Hence why everyone at the gym now thinks I’m a weirdo who cries and laughs while riding the stationary bike. Whatevs.). I was struck immediately by Scott’s honesty. He wasn’t scared to tackle any topic (sex, gender roles, how unprepared he felt for parenthood etc) and the love for his wife and his family was actually palpable.

I loved Scott’s writing style. As I stated it was honest yet also educational and self deprecating. It was real. It was like having a conversation with a friend. For the first 75% of the book before diabetes enters the picture he talks about how we wooed his wife, how they got pregnant the first time, learning to be a parent and so on. But I loved reading about when he took Cole to Barack Obama’s inauguration or to the zoo to watch the lions feed. There was so much detail that not only could I picture it in my head, I could feel it my heart and it was almost as if those memories were my own due to their vividity. I was simply blown away by how amazingly talented of a writer he is.

Then Arden was diagnosed with diabetes. That’s when I cried. I cried for the fear and despair that Scott felt. I cried for a life that will never be “normal” for Arden. I cried for my own diagnosis. But I cheered when Scott  got blunt about diabetes. Instead of getting technical with medical terminology and acronyms (which is more or less the day to day conversational speech when you have a chronic illness), he made a simple comparison. He discussed how the one thing keeping his child alive was also the one thing that could take her life if the proper calculations aren’t made. I won’t lie, I try not to associate my mortality with diabetes. More or less because in order to survive I can’t constantly be thinking about how I’m dying every minute and instead I need to focus on caring for myself to the best of my abilities. He found a way to say to the world that diabetes sucks. And it’s scary. But you do what you have to do and you keep on keepin’ on. And I am so grateful for that. It not only changed my perspective a bit and will prevent me from downplaying the seriousness of my disease but it was more a giant lesson from the DOC that I am not alone.

So, if I can say one thing to anyone reading this blog right now, it’s get out and read this book. And then pass it on. It doesn’t matter if you do or don’t have children or if you do or don’t have diabetes. Everyone can take something away from this book. What are you waiting for? Get reading! Oh, and make sure to follow Scott AND Tony on Twitter! xo

Disclaimer: While I did not pay for this book, my opinions weren’t swayed by this fact. Nor were my opinions requested by Tony or Scott. Just so y’all know, I would’ve loved this book even I paid $100 for it.

Leave a Reply

