This is my blog…nacho blog

Dress Shopping – Take 1

A few weeks ago, Ryan and I went to David’s Bridal to look at wedding dresses. We decided to look together for several reasons. First off, I think it’s pretty clear that we’re not doing anything traditionally so we’re not worried about the “bad luck to see the bride before the wedding” superstition. Secondly, I wanted to see Ryan’s reactions to the dress. Ultimately, I want to choose a dress that makes me feel beautiful but more than the fit or look of the dress, the look in Ryan’s eyes is what makes me feel truly beautiful. So I asked if he was willing to offer his opinions and he obliged (I’m so lucky!).

On the morning of our appointment, we already hit a snag. My sister had two extra gowns for her wedding (she bought one to change into for dancing at the reception then found one she liked better. Turns out as her Maid of Honor I forgot to bring either to the wedding – oops!) and she offered them to me if I wanted them. I’d had them at the house for well over a week and had trouble resisting the urge to try them on. I had given myself a little extra time to try them on before leaving the house and giving Ryan a preview – at the very least I would know if we were on the same page. Both gowns were a bit large on me and made it hard to decide if the styles really worked for me. Ryan took one look and said, “I thought you were going to wear a short dress.” WHAT?!

Yes, we discussed what I was thinking for a dress. Rather, I discussed and Ryan listened to as much as he could (or wanted to) understand. I had originally wanted to have my dress made and was only going to try dresses on to guarantee the features I was looking for (cowl neck/low drapey back/ivory) suited my body. I’d never mentioned length in any of these conversations but I always imagined holding on to a dress loop while I was barefoot in the ocean and apparently Ryan imagined a shorter dress with no chance of it getting wet or ruined.

We hadn’t even gotten to David’s yet and weren’t seeing eye to eye. No big deal, we are FABULOUS at compromise. So he agreed to keep an open mind and I agreed to try on a couple of shorter dresses. When the appointment was over we were down to four favorites. Not a short one in the bunch! I actually think we found THE dress. I’m now working on setting up an appointment to get my 2 best friends and my sister to weigh in and then another appointment for my my mom, Ryan’s mom, Ryan’s stepmom and Ryan’s sister to weigh in with their opinions. At one of those appointments, I’ll get pictures of ME in each dress but in the meantime, here are the options. Which one gets YOUR vote?

This dress was everything I said I didn't want but once it was on? LOVE!

This dress was everything I said I didn’t want but once it was on? LOVE!

This is actually a bridesmaid dress but I really like the style. It comes in ivory but I think the red is a nice step away from tradition :)

This is actually a bridesmaid dress but I really like the style. It comes in ivory but I think the red is a nice step away from tradition 🙂

This was the first dress I tried on and I loved the lacy cap sleeves and the framing it gives in the back.

This was the first dress I tried on and I loved the lacy cap sleeves and the framing it gives in the back.

We liked the neckline & Grecian feel to this dress. I personally liked how it draped nicely over my midsection to cover my insulin pump :)

We liked the neckline & Grecian feel to this dress. I personally liked how it draped nicely over my midsection to cover my insulin pump 🙂

 

2 responses

  1. Elizabeth

    I like the first one! But, it would be nice to see you in them.

    May 20, 2013 at 10:35 pm

  2. Hi. I go for the first one.

    May 22, 2013 at 10:19 am

Leave a Reply

