This is my blog…nacho blog

Accomplishments Big & Small – Diabetes Blog Week – Day 4

For an explanation of diabetes blog week, to sign up or to find more bloggers participating, please visit Karen’s blog, Bitter~Sweet Diabetes.

We don’t always realize it, but each one of us had come a long way since diabetes first came into our life. It doesn’t matter if it’s been 5 weeks, 5 years or 50 years, you’ve done something outstanding diabetes-wise. So today let’s share the greatest accomplishment you’ve made in terms of dealing with your (or your loved one’s) diabetes. No accomplishment is too big or too small – think about self-acceptance, something you’ve mastered (pump / exercise / diet / etc.), making a tough care decision (finding a new endo or support group / choosing to use or not use a technology / etc.).

I don’t even know where to start on this post. I have no doubts about the things I have accomplished since my diagnosis. While on a day to day basis it’s easier to focus on the negativity that surrounds diabetes (guilt about EVERYTHING. Hating this disease. Just the general sucktitude of D etc), I find it quite easy to take a step back and marvel at how immensely proud of myself I am for what I have endured so far. I learned how to give myself shots. I learned how to treat lows. I learned how to manage this condition on a daily basis. I chose to start pumping and I chose to begin using a CGM. I chose to be with a partner that supports me when I need it yet knows when to give me space. I have joined support groups. I have blogged. I have “met” wonderful people from the DOC who just “get it.” I’ve done some really cool things because of diabetes and I am proud of my own desire to be “better.” I strive to push myself through exercise. I embrace every opportunity to educate others and eradicate the ignorance about diabetes. But my most proud moment in the 6+ years since I was diagnosed, hasn’t actually happened yet.

On July 28, 2013, I will compete in my first Sprint Triathlon. I’ve begun training and learning how to navigate the fluctuating blood sugars that come with strenuous exercise. I am developing training plans and meal plans and blood sugar regimens. I am also blogging about all of this for my local hospital (the largest Level 1 Trauma center in the whole state!) as well which just exaggerates the pride I feel – and the pressure to succeed of course, but in a positive way. I have no specific time goal in mind, only to complete it. I know I can do this. Diabetes has taught me that I can get through anything if I want it bad enough and am willing to work hard enough to achieve it, and damn it, I can’t wait to call myself a T1 Triathlete! xo

 

PS – My first blog post has been written, submitted and approved for publish on 5/29. You can be sure I’ll be pimping that link when the time comes!

2 responses

  1. Click1st

    Good luck on the Triathlon! Can’t wait to hear about your training throughout! WTG!!

    May 16, 2013 at 5:10 pm

  2. Wow, good luck! Yeah, can’t wait to hear about your training either

    May 26, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Leave a Reply

