This is my blog…nacho blog

Memories – Diabetes Blog Week – Day 3

For an explanation of diabetes blog week, to sign up or to find more bloggers participating, please visit Karen’s blog, Bitter~Sweet Diabetes.

Today we’re going to share our most memorable diabetes day. You can take this anywhere…. your or your loved one’s diagnosis, a bad low, a bad high, a big success, any day that you’d like to share.

I’ve discussed a few different Memorable Diabetes days here on this blog…the day I was diagnosed. The first time I saw a number below 200. My first ambulance ride. Going into DKA. Since you’ve read up on those, I decided to try to think of something different, a little treat for my readers if you will. So I racked my brain to try to come up with something good for you. It may not sound like much, but it meant the world to me.

The company I work for now is the 4th place I’ve been employed with since my diagnosis. It is also, by far, the most accommodating of my diabetes and everything that means (several regular doctor’s appointments, emergency appointments, wacky highs, stubborn lows etc). When I first started here, I was very open about my diabetes. I’ve never felt it was something I should hide or be ashamed of (it’s not like I could have prevented it, and informing those around you is important for any emergency that might spring up) so I answered any and all questions that people had. I started here the beginning of March 2012. The owner of the company is what I like to call a snow bird – he lives in Vermont from April until Christmas. Then he moves to North Carolina with his wife to do missionary work during the awful Vermont winters (smart man!). So I had been here a little over a month when I first met him. The first thing he asked me about was my diabetes. Turns out he has a granddaughter that is T1 and uses a pump. He was well versed in D-terminology and curious about my management – and not in a Diabetes Police way, but in a very caring way. He asked me to write up some emergency instructions and hang them up around the office so if ANYTHING happened to me, people would know what to do. I always struggle with this because basically you’re writing instructions on how to save your life – and it’s hard to take that lightly.

I typed up all my important phone numbers, what to do if I pass out (Dial 911. Suspend my insulin pump. Inject Glucagon.) I trained 3 of my coworkers how to do a Glucagon injection using an orange. I check in with those 3 on a regular basis (“Sugar has been running high. No ketones.” “I’ve been sick and have ketones, can you please take me to the ER?” “I’m low and need help getting a snack.”) Everyone is super helpful and willing to help. And this makes living and working with diabetes so much easier! I am so grateful for Fred and making sure I feel safe where I work. The first day I met him will always be one of my favorite D-memories!

5 responses

  1. Aw that must be so nice to have such caring coworkers and boss. I’m sure it makes things easier knowing they understand and know what to do in an emergency. There’s such a difference between just acknowledging your diabetes and going out of their way to be helpful.

    May 15, 2013 at 8:53 am

  2. I’m in a very small office. Everyone knows I have diabetes and knows to call 911 if I have an emergency. Never thought to have them stop the pump. I don’t know if they could do that but they could at least disconnect it if I teach them. They’re good friends, two of them waited with me one afternoon recently while I sucked on juice waiting to be safe to drive.

    May 15, 2013 at 6:03 pm

    • Isn’t it amazing to be surrounded by people who care and sympathize. Makes this battle that mush easier to fight 🙂

      May 16, 2013 at 9:14 am

  3. That sounds like an amazing workplace!

    May 18, 2013 at 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

