This is my blog…nacho blog

Dream Diabetes Device – Diabetes Blog Week – Day 2 – Wild Card

For an explanation of diabetes blog week, to sign up or to find more bloggers participating, please visit Karen’s blog, Bitter~Sweet Diabetes.

Here’s today’s Diabetes Blog Week Topic:

Recently various petitions have been circulating the Diabetes Online Community, so today let’s pretend to write our own. Tell us who you would write the petition to – a person, an organization, even an object (animate or inanimate) – get creative!! What are you trying to change and what have you experienced that makes you want this change?

Well, I’m not currently up in arms over anything (someone check my temperature – stat!) so I am choosing a Wild Card Topic for today:

Back by popular demand, let’s revisit this prompt from last year! Tell us what your fantasy diabetes device would be? Think of your dream blood glucose checker, delivery system for insulin or other meds, magic carb counter, etc etc etc. The sky is the limit – what would you love to see?

I actually have 2 Dream Diabetes Devices. One would be a pancreas that works. While we’re getting closer every day, I thought I would talk about some something a bit more tangible (although the idea of knowing my blood sugar just by thinking about it would be grand as well!). What I would love is an easy way to journal ALL the info I would like to keep track of in order to really see patterns in my blood sugar readings. I want to journal about ANYTHING that could have an impact on my diabetes – am I hydrating enough? How much exercise did I do and how strenuous was it? Those 45g of carbs I ate – was that in  natural sugars or did I eat pizza? Did I do a sensor or pod change? Did I sent a temp basal? How much for how long? All those things are important to me but keeping track of it all in my head just can’t happen. At this point I can’t even calculate a bolus thanks to my dependence on my pump to do all that math for me! I have tried various apps, notes in my phone, actual physical journaling (with spreadsheets I created) and I just can’t find a system that works for me longer than a few days. So my dream device would be something akin to Ryan but robotic.

You see, I tell my fiancee Ryan just about everything I would want a journal to record for me.

“I was 252 before I got on the treadmill for a 20 minute interval workout.”

“I don’t like how low I am before bed. I am going to set a -25% temp basal for 4 hours so I don’t wake up low.”

“I’ve drank 100 oz of water today!”

I don’t know why I tell him all this. I guess it makes me feel more accountable and maybe even less alone. And while I know Ryan is listening and helping me to make informed decisions about my care, it’s not like he remembers every blood sugar/temp basal/exercise regime etc that I have ever told him in the whole history of time. So I want something that I can bounce those ideas off of and will record all of the things listed above (plus any more that I think of!). I don’t know about you guys, but a Robot Journal sounds like something that would help me and my D Management tremendously. xo

6 responses

  1. This would be really great. Especially if we could journal it just by talking to it – kind of like Siri but it would actually understand what we’re saying!

    May 14, 2013 at 1:58 pm

    • YES! That would be AMAZEBALLS! Thanks for reading Karen!

      May 14, 2013 at 2:54 pm

  2. I like your journal idea! It would be cool if it could give suggestions back, kind of like a virtual doctor but completely nonjudgmental. Maybe even through in some affirmations. “Wow, those are some great blood sugars today, keep up the good work.” “I’m sorry you had so many highs today, don’t worry though, tomorrow is a new day.” 🙂

    May 15, 2013 at 6:22 pm

  3. This would be great! If only right?

    May 17, 2013 at 2:19 pm

  4. Here here! Great IDEA!! I’d like to track all that for my daughter too. More Data! More Data!

    May 19, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Leave a Reply

