This is my blog…nacho blog

Share Don’t Share – Diabetes Blog Week – Day 1

For an explanation of diabetes blog week, to sign up or to find more bloggers participating, please visit Karen’s blog, Bitter~Sweet Diabetes.

Diabetes Blog Week already? Ok, twist my arm. Here’s today’s topic!

Often our health care team only sees us for about 15 minutes several times a year, and they might not have a sense of what our lives are really like. Today, let’s pretend our medical team is reading our blogs. What do you wish they could see about your and/or your loved one’s daily life with diabetes? On the other hand, what do you hope they don’t see? 

Reading this prompt made me realize I am tremendously lucky for the care I receive from both my endocrinologist and my CDE (my PCP however? Different story all together!). I meet with my CDE about 4 times a year and twice with my endo. Each appointment is roughly an hour long, with a good 40 minutes of that spent with my provider. They remember details about my life (getting married, exerciser, can’t eat fruit snacks anymore, love social media) and we always make sure the conversation has as many high points as low points (if not more). They are both easily accessible by email and I know I can upload my Omnipod or Dex and send it off for advice & adjustments at any point.

They are both aware how active I am in social media and usually have lots of questions about what’s going on in the DOC. They encouraged me to draft a proposal to the local hospital to create a position for a Diabetes Outreach Coordinator position which would help patients find the support they need right here within the community. I don’t know what D Management would look like without the DOC but could you imagine how much more helpful it would be if when D is getting you down, all you have to do is pick up a phone and you can meeting someone for coffee who “gets it?” Someone who could create networks of support not just for patients with D (broken down by age group and Type if necessary) but also for those that support us (parents, siblings, significant others etc.) I see such a need for this in my own life and I imagine I am not alone in feeling this way. Nothing has come of yet but I am blogging for the local hospital about diabetes and triathlon training so…baby steps! And I was able to join the local chapter of Insulindependence (although I’ve only attended one event – so far!) thanks to a class I attended at my endo’s office.

So basically, there is nothing more I need from my team of D medical professionals. There is nothing I don’t share with them (what’s the point in lying when the truth is in the blood sugars they’re staring at?) or feel I couldn’t share with them. I know this most likely puts me in a minority, but that doesn’t bother me at all! I urge all of you who DO have issues with the people responsible for helping you with D management, find somebody different. I know it’s easier said than done but I guarantee it will cut down on the frustration of diabetes if you find a doctor you can just be honest with and who listens. I promise. I wasn’t lucky like this with the first endo I had…xoxo

Leave a Reply

