This is my blog…nacho blog

Another Birthday…

Know what today is? This guy’s birthday!

Markie smiles after a sunny walk on the Burlington Bikepath

Markie smiles after a sunny walk on the Burlington Bikepath

That’s right, today my little miracle baby brother turns 3. In case you don’t know the story of how my parents began fostering Mark when he was six months old (and they were in their SIXTIES), you can read more about it here. And then you can catch up on how he stole our hearts, exceeded every expectation and became a member of our family here.

As I sit here & write this today, a lot has changed in Mark’s life. He has teeth. He is vocal (not verbal). He can voluntarily move his arms & legs. He has the most beautiful smile (see it above?!) And the biggest news of all, Mark starts school in the fall! He will be attending a EEE program in our community and interacting with children of different ages and mental/physical capabilities (several of the other children are “normal’). He will be working with a speech therapist who will try to develop a system for Mark to communicate his needs. He’ll work with physical and occupational therapists. He will be so loved and cared for. He’s even going to a ride the bus!

My family is hopeful for more growth and potential from Mark, but at the same time we realize every day we have him is truly a gift. He wasn’t expected to make it to a year and he has surpassed that and so many more milestones. So while we remain hopeful, our greatest feeling is that of gratitude for this little boy that changes lives everywhere he goes. Enjoy more pics of the birthday boy below. Some are new. Some are old. Some have been shared across social media and some have never been seen. Happy birthday Brudder. I love you! xo

Markie & Vita snuggle some more.

Markie & Vita snuggle some more.

Markie meets my sister's new puppy Vita. Snuggles & love ensue.

Markie meets my sister’s new puppy Vita. Snuggles & love ensue.

Mark & my nephews. This picture makes me smile :)

Mark & my nephews. This picture makes me smile 🙂

Damn straight they do!

Damn straight they do!

Adoption Day! My brother in our family tartan with my Mom & Dad

Adoption Day! My brother in our family tartan with my Mom & Dad

Dogs just love Mark! Here Daisy can't help but smother him with kisses :)

Dogs just love Mark! Here Daisy can’t help but smother him with kisses 🙂

2 responses

  1. Pingback: I Believe In Forced Sterilization | Nachoblog's Blog

    • I agree Scott. You have many great points here. I’m not really sure how exactly we would enforce this but I do think it’s a subject we should be discussing. Our population has exploded along with people’s reliance on government assistance. The population boom also effects our already overcrowded prisons, healthcare and the environment. Those things and more could directly benefit from us finding ways to slow the population growth.

      July 11, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Leave a Reply

