This is my blog…nacho blog

Happy Birthday Grier!

For those of you that don’t know, Ryan got me a bunny for my birthday last September. To be honest, I don’t think he intended for me to ACTUALLY get a rabbit when he said drunkenly one night, “I’m not living with a cat again. You can have a bunny.” Less than a week later, Grier (the name is Scottish for watchful. I have always wanted to give a little girl this as a middle name but alas, bunny it is!) was our new pet. You see, Ryan told me from the very beginning that he would never live with a cat again. I just figured it was an expression & that eventually I would be able to sweet talk him into letting me get a sweet little kitten. NO DICE! I have been trying, literally, for years to change his mind and have had zero luck. So when he offered the opportunity to bring something home that was furry & cute, even if it wasn’t a cat, I jumped on it.
I scoured Craigslist the next day and saw a pic of the cutest little bunny. At 6 months old, “Jack”‘s owner had to get rid of him because if he didn’t leave the apartment, she was going to be forced out too. So she was offering him with his litterbox, whatever food & hay he had left along with a “cage” for $25. I went for it.
My coworker took me to meet his owner in a parking lot to do the exchange. I had already done a bunch of research on rabbits and spent upwards of $75 at PetSmart the night before to make sure we would have him all set. He came in a large plastic dog crate with an overflowing litterbox. With only an hour my coworker had time to get him to my house, empty his litterbox and get back to work. The next few days were spent oohing and awwing over how cute he was and just trying to figure each other out.
Bunnies are super cute. When Grier bathes himself I about die from the cuteness (that is not Grier but you get the idea). But they are SO DAMN MISCHEVIOUS! He’s chewed through 3 phone chargers, too many towels/blankets/laundry left on the floor to count and he loves to chew on the inside of his beautiful cage that Ryan insisted we buy him. We give him things to chew on that we are ok with (paper bags and kleenex boxes are two of his favorites) along with treats especially made to help bunnies keep their constantly growing teeth from becoming too sharp. But he much prefers furniture, rugs and the rubber along the bottom of our sliding door.
I won’t lie, between the fact that he chewed everything in sight, cost a bazillion dollars at the vet (we got him neutered to prevent spraying of urine to mark his territory and then he had a skin infection which took 2 visits – and eventually was cleared up with coconut oil, ugh – to clear up. AKA, expensive as fuck.) and refused to snuggle with me no matter how much kale, carrots or broccoli I gave him, I was thinking twice about being a bunny parent. But now that it’s been a while, we are adapting. I can’t compare owning a pet to having a child but when that’s your only point of reference for how much time, energy and money it takes to care for something that depends on you for EVERYTHING, I think you can see a similarity. And much like a first time parent might, I had my doubts and regrets. But we’ve transitioned into what I believe is Grier’s toddler period. He interacts with us more and does far less stomping (rabbits do this things when they feel scared or threatened. Grier I think does it a lot of times cuz he’s an asshole like that). It’s not a cat by any means, but I think I’m finally getting used to this bunny thing. Happy Birthday Funny Bunny! Enjoy some pics and videos of our little man below! xo

Grier getting weighed (7lbs!) at his first vet appointment.

Grier getting weighed (7lbs!) at his first vet appointment.

IMG_20121003_171425

All stretched out on the living room floor, per usual.

All stretched out on the living room floor, per usual.

Ryan & Grier having a conversation about "listening skills." SWOON

Ryan & Grier having a conversation about “listening skills.” SWOON

Those ears!

Those ears!

How could you not love him?!

How could you not love him?!

Grier came to work with me the day after he was neutered. We had fun.

Grier came to work with me the day after he was neutered. We had fun.

Leave a Reply

