This is my blog…nacho blog

Silver Lining Seeking

(Warning: Contains some of f bombs. I’m not sorry. You’ve been warned.)

By now we all know about the tragedy in Boston yesterday. On one of the greatest days to be a Bostonian, some cowardly, twisted fuck decided to plant & detonate not one, but two bombs along the finish line of the world famous Boston Marathon. I was at the hospital here in Burlington to meet with their social media director about a blogging stint (I have all the details now and will share soon. Now just doesn’t feel like the time.) and also had an appointment there right after. I was there from 2pm until a little before 4pm. I was unplugged and oblivious to what was happening in one of my very favorite cities. As I was leaving my appointment I received a text from a coworker who went to college in Boston, “There were 2 explosions at the Boston Marathon.” “Hmmm, that’s’ strange” I thought to myself, and finished checking out and setting up my next appointment. While I waited for the bus, I sent out a tweet looking for more information. Then I started reading the news sites. Next thing I know I’m on a bus full of strangers with my hand over my mouth and tears rolling down my cheeks. 2 dead? 22 injured? What in the holy hell is happening?!

I couldn’t get enough information. I followed Twitter & Facebook links all the way home and turned on the television the minute I walked through the door. I tried to get Grier to snuggle, but that was no go (why do bunnies not like to snuggle?!) so I just watched. And watched, And watched. This is what I do. This is what I did in 1993 as I watched people emerge from the subway underneath the World Trade Center dazed, scared and covered in soot. This is what I did in 1995 when Timothy McVeigh & Terry Nichols killed 168 people at the Alfred P. Murrah building in Oklahoma City. I did this with Columbine, with 9/11 and most recently with Sandy Hook. I don’t know why I do this to myself but I do. I feel as if I can inhale as much info as possible it will help me answer all the questions in my head surrounding what kind of  fucktard could willingly and knowingly kill one/several/hundreds or thousands of innocent people. As much as I tell myself it’s ok to not understand, that understanding where they are coming from brings me down to their level of hatred and that is not somewhere I EVER want to find myself, it’s hard. You want to find some kind of explanation as to why so many innocent souls are no longer with us except in spirit. You want to find out what went wrong so you can fix it and keep it from happening again. And again. To keep from explaining this to our children. To keep our hearts protected. To keep ourselves from becoming desensitized to images of the terrors of war happening in our own backyards.

Amid all the grief and disbelief last night, I did what I always do, what I know how to do. I looked for a silver lining. And you know what, I didn’t have to look far. I didn’t have to look beyond the throngs of people running TOWARDS the blast to help those who weren’t as fortunate as to escape serious injury. I didn’t have to look beyond the first responders who were out in numbers to protect the runners from the expected leg injuries and dehydration who instead had to create tourniquets and see carnage that no one can prepare themselves for. I didn’t have to look further than the reports of people who had finished the marathon continuing on towards hospitals to donate blood for those who so desperately needed it.

And today, we stand together with Boston and with the families of the 3 lost souls and the other more than 120 people injured and their loved ones. We stand together as Americans and say, “How dare you do this to us, whoever you are! Just don’t think you can break us; because you haven’t, you can’t and you won’t.” I love you Boston, always have, always will. XOXO

Some other goodness worth reading today:

My buddy Aaron writes an amazing blog that I make sure never to miss. Today, he hit the nail on the head in ways I only wish I could.

Patton Oswalt is incredibly eloquent. Who knew?!

This conspiracy website. Click, it’s not what you think.

And true love. We all need a smile today.

Leave a Reply

