This is my blog…nacho blog

Checking In…and Sounding Off

Hey everyone! Happy birthday week to me! As of Saturday I will be a whopping 32. Where does all the time go?! Now that I have two adorable nephews and a teeny brother I have noticed time speeding by dramatically faster than ever before. God bless you those that have your OWN children – I can only imagine it’s ten times more terrifying that what I am experiencing. Anyway, I’ve been meaning to check in for a little bit on many different things but just haven’t gotten around to it. I’m not beating myself up anymore than you all have been holding your breath waiting for a new post. With that said though there are a few things I need to get off my chest and I can’t think of a better place to do it. So here goes.

Politics:
In case you’ve been living under a rock, you know it’s an election year. I both love and hate this home stretch to voting day. I love the passion people have for the candidates and issues they care about. I love the feeling of hope that accompanies electing the leader of our country. What I don’t look forward to are the awkward conversations with people who are close minded and ignorant (like the “you’ll hear how I see it but I’m not listening to your argument because my party is always right!” convo I had the other night with two self proclaimed die hard Republicans), the signs all over lawns and any other open space and most of all the nitpicking and attack ads between candidates at all levels of government.
Becoming president/congressman/mayor etc should NEVER be about what your opponent is doing wrong – it’s how YOU can make it right. If the only leg you’ve got to stand on is the faults of the person you’re running against I suggest you take a long hard look in the mirror and reconsider your career choice. I admit to being an extremely liberal, fairly progressive, democrat. I have no problem admitting to watching all 3 nights of the DNC with tears in my eyes and hope in my heart and a dedication to re-elect Barack Obama as my president. I admire his humility, his love of this country and his desire to finish a job he doesn’t feel he has been able to complete. I won’t lie, I’ve been going around asking anybody that will listen how they expected Obama to clean up a mess in 4 years that took 8 to make. When I asked that of my Republican “buddies” the other night they said that the economic trouble we’re in was due to President Clinton and all the bills he signed allowing banks to lend to people that were questionable. To that point I asked, “Well didn’t the banks have some responsibility to not lend to those they knew would default? Isn’t that predatory lending? And what about those people that could afford homes back in the late nineties and early 2000’s but due to the economy’s demise under GWB lost their jobs and landed themselves in tough situations – we need to think about them too and how that wasn’t Clinton’s fault.” They had none of it. They were right, I was wrong. Plain and simple. The problem, in my opinion, is that people have put too much weight on the two party system and everything is black and white, right or wrong. We have Republicans voting against bills and measures that are needed and make sense just because it was introduced by a Democrat (and I’m not silly enough to think this doesn’t work both ways). What about the grey areas? What about taking an oath to stand up for what is right and good and honest? Every year I get more fed up and frustrated by politics but I am also finding myself becoming slightly more involved and caring with each election. I fear a general sense of apathy from voters today. There are those that are so vehement in their beliefs and others who just seem to want to close their eyes and plug their ears til it’s all over. It is our duty as American citizens to stand up and exercise the right that so many of our forefathers fought for. So get out and vote this November, no matter what your political leanings are. Just make sure you are educated about it.

On a side note about the DNC: San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro moved me to tears. Watching and listening to him speak last Tuesday night gave me chills and flashbacks to the 2004 DNC when Barack Obama himself gave the keynote address. I saw big things for Barack then and I see greatness in Mayor Castro’s future. His daughter preening herself was pretty cute to watch too. Also, I feel like Mitt Romney can now claim he has created jobs – there is a far greater need for fact checkers these days between him and the devil Paul Ryan. So, there’s that!

Family:

Things with my family are wonderful! Brother continues to thrive. My nephews are growing like weeds. Bman started preschool last week and JD’s vocabulary seems to be doubling every day. They are cute, funny, independent little boys and I simply don’t think it’s possible to love them anymore than I do. We’ve been spending lots of time with my family as of late, with no particular reason other than it’s worked out for us all to get together several times in the last few weeks. My company paid for us all to attend a local baseball game and have a BBQ so Dad, Sis, BIL, Bman, JD, FF and I all went. We had a great time and the boys came with FF & I to see the team mascot (Champ – duh!) and give him a high five (they were so excited for us to take them to see him when we saw him across the field – excited enough to put down their first ever cotton candy! When we got close they both burrowed in to me for protection but once Auntie laughed and gave Champ a high five herself the boys just had to get in on the action!). We had a great night and our team won!

 

Kitteh Problems:

Last night, Sis did me a solid. As you may or may not know, FF’s job has had him (and will have him) traveling for a bit. He spent 2 weeks in Louisville at the end of July. He’s now gone to Maine for a week. He leaves again on the last Saturday of September for Washington State for a week and then has not even 7 days home before he’s off to Maine again for a week. Phew! That’s a lot of time alone! I’ve been absolutely BEGGING for a kitten. I know they can’t actually do anything to protect me or help me in case of emergency but someone to snuggle with and have happy to see me at the end of a long work day is something I’ve been so desperately craving. FF says NO. Every. Time. He said he will never again live with a cat. I’ve tried so many ways to persuade and bribe him but that man is strong willed y’all and I don’t think I will ever actually get my way 😦 (He’s open to getting a dog but they’re not allowed in our apartment complex and are soooo much more work and dedication than a cat.) Well, at dinner at Sis’s house last night she suggested I take her 6 month old Siamese home with me for the rest of the week. Cora and I have been snuggle buddies for the last 24 hours and I am already dreading having to give her back before FF comes home. I think my nephews would be pretty upset if I kept her (they also have a yellow lab and another Siamese so I didn’t (and wouldn’t!) leave them without a pet).

Health:

No news here, diabetes still sucks. My A1C was down about .5 at my last visit and I set a pretty hefty goal of having it down another .7 by November. I’ve been going to the gym regularly and even competed in my first 5K this past weekend. I see big things in my future athletically and I’m excited about it. I have a session with a personal trainer next week so she can show me some new things and help me learn how to push myself better. All is good on this front.

I think that’s it for now. I think it was the political ranting I really needed to get off my chest – and bot do I feel better! Well, kinda. I won’t truly feel better until after the election is over. Until them I am terrified. And looking into how hard it would be to get clearance to live in Canada should Romney be elected. That’s all for now – I hope you’re all well. I still miss Twitter terribly!!!! XOXO

 

One response

  1. Neil ODonnell

    Glad to hear from you! Great post as always!

    September 10, 2012 at 3:36 pm

Leave a Reply

