This is my blog…nacho blog

Is This Thing On

Holy shitballs! When the eff did it get to be mid-July?! Is anyone else’s summer flying by so super fast it’s leaving you dizzy? Nope? Just me. Ahem. Never mind. Just the same, I thought it was about time I popped back over to my little corner of internet and let you all know I’m around. And busy. And happy. Life is good – here are some highlights.

  • My health is doing so much better! Thanks for all the comments on my last post and through Facebook and Instagram. They were all so appreciated!
  • This summer has already held so much fun and excitement. From a surprise 60th birthday party for my mom to seeing Neon Trees (The melted my FACE off!!!) and there’s still so much more to come. Like a camping trip where we’ll go tubing (the lazy river/float with a cooler kind – not the towed from a boat and getting hit by a jet ski kind), a wedding, a Citizen Cope concert (it’s gonna be a miracle if FF & I don’t get arrested for indecent exposure while there. In case you don’t remember, he’s a staple in our Brown Chicken Brown Cow Playlist) and a day at Smuggler’s Notch playing disc golf and ziplining (thank you JumpOnIt Deal!).
  • FF’s first trip for work starts next Monday. He leaves for Louisville for two weeks (I haz the major sads) for training. Although there is a bright spot here – since he doesn’t have to work over the weekend I’m going to fly down for a three day weekend to visit! We’ve never been on vacation together before (minus weekends in Boston – which are great but it’s only a 3.5 hour drive) and while I don’t think a weekend together in Kentucky can really be classified as a vacation, it will be nice to explore a new place together. Anyone have any suggestions on what to do, see or eat while we’re down there? This will also be my first time flying as a PWD. I’ve been in contact with my doctors and I know neither I (while wearing my devices) nor my spare supplies (don’t leave home without them!) can be subjected to any X-rays. So this means a pat down for me (after 5 days without FF, this may be a welcome thing. LOL!) and a spare, clear bag for my supplies so I can pull them out of my carry on (I’m not checking a bag) before sending the rest of the bag through the scanner. I feel prepared but still a bit nervous. Any other PWDs have any tips for avoiding TSA headaches? I would gladly take them!
  • We just started going to a new gym. FF got an AMAZING deal on a one year membership at the area’s premiere gym (we’re talking five locations – three of which have a pool – squee!!!). We don’t mind the gym we’ve been going to (Planet Fitness) because the price is great and we know the equipment but with both of us working so close together it’s not really conveniently located anymore (For locals: we live in the NNE in Burlington and work in Winooski. PF is on the Williston/South Burlington border – just not really worth getting out of bed 15 minutes earlier to allow for travel time or cutting workouts short to guarantee on time arrival for work ya know?). Starting a new gym is hard because the equipment is different and so is the set up. We’re going to try a few of the locations to see which one suits our needs the best. I’m most excited about taking some classes (mainly Zumba and Body Pump) and also, drumroll please, I’ve decided to train for a triathlon! Intimidating? Maybe. But I need a goal. I’m happy with my body at this point – from my weight and how I look in the mirror to the tone & definition of my muscles. I know I need to maintain that but it’s so damn boring. So I decided a goal was in order. I am signing up for two 5Ks in the next couple months (my first ones!) and doing my training throughout the winter and will hopefully compete in my 1st triathlon in the spring. I’m pretty pumped! Now I need to figure out a training schedule. The gym we’re now going to offers triathlon training – but it’s several HUNDRED dollars for less than 10 weeks of training once a week. That’s more than we paid for a full year membership for BOTH of us! So, I’ll be doing some research on training methods but would gladly take any advice people would like to offer!
  • We’ve been riding our bikes a lot lately. There’s a national bike challenge we’ve accepted that is sponsored locally by a few different bike shops. It’s called the Get Up & Ride National Bike Challenge and it’s attempting to get 50,000 people to bike 10 million miles between May 1 and August 31 of this year. Right now there are about 28,000 riders who have logged more than 7 million miles. We’re having fun with it and have planned some long bike rides over the weekends (long for me is 10-15 miles. Then I wanna be done) and I also log any miles I ride on the stationary bike at the gym. You can find more information here.
  • We planted a garden this year and it is EXPLODING with goodies! This is our first garden so we were unsure what to expect. We planted pole beans, sugar snap peas, squash, zucchini, radishes, carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes and peppers (all from seed except the tomatoes and peppers) and it has been an amazing learning experience. We did some canning for the first time this weekend and even went out and bought a food processor and a mandolin to be able to fully take advantage of all of our produce. It’s very exciting!
  • Work is going really well. I’ve been busy with both the customer service and social media aspects and recently also began doing some production and material planning. My plate is VERY full but I am loving it! I’m learning a lot of new things and still feel so appreciated every day. I am truly blessed to find a company where I fit in so well. For the first time in my life I am somewhere I could see myself for a very, very long time. Life is truly amazing in every way for me right now and I feel incredibly blessed.  

I think that about sums it up for now. I hope this post finds you all well and enjoying this lovely time of year. FF & I are still on a Twitter hiatus and I miss everyone terribly but it is what it is. xoxo

One response

  1. So happy to hear that things are going well.

    You might want to ping TSA before you fly — just to make sure you get a hottie to administer the pat-down.

    Best of luck in the triathlon training — I had a BLAST during my first, and I’m super eager to start training for longer distances. The problem is that I can only train for the swimming in the very, very early morning, and, well, in the very, very early morning, I like to sleep.

    July 11, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Leave a Reply

