This is my blog…nacho blog

Candy Ass is Getting Hitched!

This weekend FF and I will travel about 3 hours south of us to celebrate the wedding of a dear friend I made in college. I know for a fact she visits this little blog and I’d like to take this opportunity to share a few memories and good wishes. I hope you’ll bear with my mushiness. 🙂

I met my friend, Candy Ass (one of her many nicknames. I also like to call her Wacky Bitch.) during my sophomore year in college. On moving day there she was. Of the 7 of us, she was the oldest – and the only one with a valid ID. Which meant endless teasing about the fact that she would be going through “The Change” before she graduated from college and lots of trips in the back door of our dorm with backpacks full of legally purchased but (soon to be) illegally consumed booze.

We only lived together for a year before she left college. We had forged a serious bond in that 9 months of living together though. She was going through a tough time of which I will not speak about here but will let you know was something NO ONE should ever have to endure and she put her trust in me. And I like to think I helped her through the rough patch.

She is hilarious when she drinks – with a killer chicken impression and a penchant for chasing foreign exchange students. She is a woman who loves cottage cheese when she is hung over. And she is someone that I am thankful I have remained close to even after all these years.

I asked her to be in my wedding many moons ago and she showed up and wore pink and supported my marriage to BDNF. And when it was over she supported (unknowingly at the time) my getting back into the game when I fancied myself a cute bartender on a visit to her to attend a sex toy party.

I have never not enjoyed her company and I always look forward to spending time with her. As far as I can remember we’ve never even had a disagreement. Tears maybe, over other life stuff but she has never once hurt my feelings and I’d like to think she would say the same.

I met her husband to be at Ginger’s “surprise” 30th party. I liked him right away – and knew it was serious as this was the first of her boyfriends I had met WHILE she was dating them (as opposed to after they broke up. Ahem.) He was quiet but outgoing, but seriously funny. I got to spend a little more time with him the following summer when they stayed at a camp just 45 minutes north of Burlington. The boy likes to drink – which made him A-OK in my book 🙂

And in October when FF & I travelled to Maine for another college friend’s wedding, she asked me to be a bridesmaid. I said YES!!!! And now, the day is drawing near and I am beyond excited. First off, because I had six girls in my wedding and as of tomorrow, I will have repaid the favor to all of them (yes, being a bridesmaid is an honor, a tremendous one – but it’s also an expensive responsibility, truth be told).

So while I’m very much looking forward to donning a pretty purple dress (I LOVE it!!!) and doing some drunken dirty dancing with FF, I’m over the moon excited for my friend. I wish her and H all the happiness in the world. There is no one I can think of that deserves it more. I love you Candy Ass!!!! xo

One response

  1. Beth

    :o) and now you know why I married a guy with a name like that…always had a thing for foreign guys LOL. Awesome job!!!!

    August 1, 2011 at 8:22 pm

Leave a Reply

