This is my blog…nacho blog

Becoming an Aunt – Again!

My best friend is scheduled to give birth to her daughter around noon today. I am beyond excited! She has one boy, RJ and his little sister will also have an R name! So to honor this occasion I decided to write for the first time in weeks! It’s not much, but I did want to share it just the same.

To my Best Good Friend on the day of her daughter’s birth:

  • Teach her the value she possesses within herself
  • Nurture her passion
  • Cherish the bond between the two of you. Nothing compares to the love between a mother & daughter.
  • Treasure every moment in which she asserts her independence.
  • Reassure her that nothing defines who she is or what she can do except her- especially not gender, race, sexual orientation or religion.
  • Remind her that no amount of cosmetics or hair product make up for bad manners or ignorance.
  • Show her how to stand up for herself gracefully in any situation.
  • Let her learn that her big brother will be her best friend and worst enemy. He will most likely be the first person to hurt her (physically & emotionally) but he will always have her back. ALWAYS
  • Realize that she was born with an agenda but never let her stop reaching past her potential.
  • Remember how painful things sometimes seemed as we grew up & how we felt out mothers couldn’t comprehend our frustration.

There is so much more I want to say. To my friend. To my new niece. But gratitude outweighs it all. I am so indebted to my friends and family for making me an aunt. It’s the best job I have ever had and I promise to do it well for the rest of my life. XO

5 responses

  1. gullygirl11

    Beautiful list! Enjoy that new baby girl. 🙂

    Good to hear from you–I was just thinking yesterday how you’d been kind of quiet lately. Hope all is well!!

    June 2, 2011 at 10:42 am

  2. Best Good Friend

    I Love you!

    June 2, 2011 at 11:38 pm

  3. Oh you always just pick up my day cousin ❤

    June 14, 2011 at 3:52 pm

  4. I put wrong http in 😦

    June 14, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

