This is my blog…nacho blog

Admiring Our Differences

Karen over at Bitter~Sweet has once again organized a whole week devoted to the entire DOC banding together to write about different prompts given every day. I enjoyed doing it so much last year that I simply couldn’t say no this time around.

Admiring our differences – Monday 5/9: We are all diabetes bloggers, but we come from many different perspectives.  Last year, Diabetes Blog Week opened my eyes to all of the different kinds of blogs (and bloggers) out there – Type 1s, Type 2s, LADAs, parents of kids with diabetes, spouses of adults with diabetes and so on.  Today let’s talk about how great it is to learn from the perspectives of those unlike us!  Have you learned new things from your T2 friends?  Are D-Parents your heroes?  Do LADA blogs give you insight to another diagnosis story?  Do T1s who’ve lived well with diabetes since childhood give you hope?  Pick a type of blogger who is different from you and tell us why they inspire you – why you admire them – why it’s great that we are all the same but different!!

Today’s topic – like pretty much every single one this week – requires a great deal of thought for me. First of all, while I have diabetes and I blog, I don’t consider myself a diabetes blogger. I feel it must take a great deal of effort – primarily emotionally – to write about diabetes every day (or even on a regular basis at all.) . I feel because diabetes takes up so much time & energy as it is that I just simply cannot devote myself to writing about it all the time. I like to write about all the other happenings in my life. For this reason, I may be doing a disservice to some of my readers who don’t have diabetes. Who may not understand exactly what it is I have to do on a daily/hourly basis to keep myself as healthy as possible.

With that said, I admire ALL people who blog about diabetes. For putting forth the effort to eradicate the ignorance and stereotypes surrounding this disease. I admire the Type 1s who have lived most of their lives with diabetes. Who grew up and went through all the hardships of puberty and beyond while also dealing with an uncooperative pancreas. I admire the Type 2s who also deal with serious stereotypes and have to work just as hard (and usually with less medical guidance) as those who can “just take a shot.” To the 1.5s r LADAs – you’re my peeps! I love being able to talk to people who received a life changing diagnosis like I did – and how they’ve learned to adjust. Honestly though, I truly admire the D-parents – those who have a working pancreas but need to also act as a pancreas for their child. Being a parent is hard enough – and scary enough – without adding a disease full of fear and complications.

So I obviously didn’t pick a favorite type of D-blogger. Does that mean I didn’t follow the rules? Oh well, I’ve always been proud of myself for bending the rules a bit when necessary 🙂 Looking forward to posting for the rest of the week – I hope you’re looking forward to reading! XO

4 responses

  1. Glad to have found your blog. Keep breaking the rules and just being you. 😉

    May 9, 2011 at 4:18 pm

  2. Definitely – keep breaking the rules and being you, doing your thing! It does take a lot to blog about diabetes all the time, and that can be draining. Whatever voice people have, it’s great to hear it and share some space online!

    May 9, 2011 at 10:41 pm

  3. Break those rules, that is why they are there right?

    May 9, 2011 at 11:05 pm

  4. Only rule about Diabetes Blog Week? That would be “don’t worry about following the ruels”!!! I love to see where the prompts take people – and I loved where it took your post. After all, each and every type of D-Blogger is awesome.

    May 20, 2011 at 12:28 pm

Leave a Reply

