This is my blog…nacho blog

Fitness Thursdays – The Beginning

Ok, I won’t lie…I am not looking forward to taking a hard look at my eating and exercise habits. Really, it’s just hard to admit I’ve put on 20 pounds that are going to be much more work to take off than they were to put in. So, first things first – I’ll just put the discomfort right out there. My “Before Pictures”

Yikes! I don’t know who calls them love handles because I sure as fuck don’t love them at all! In all reality, I have two main trouble areas. My belly (it’s jiggly and not flat) and my thighs – I’m not even gonna get into those things! To be fair, I’ve created a list of ten things I love about my body (yes, my booty is on my list. I’m damn proud of that!) and at some point, maybe I’ll share it with you. No promises though! 🙂 But those troublesome areas of my body give me a place to start in creating a fitness regime for myself. Below I’m giving you my goals for the upcoming, let’s say, one month. I’ll give you my status on a weekly basis but since I won’t be weighing myself for a month (a self imposed moratorium on that evil scale…that doesn’t track my progress – the way I feel in my own skin does. Plus muscles weigh more than fat, I know that – but a number sets a tone and I don’t need to add that pressure to myself) I figure that will be a good point to reevaluate my plan. Hopefully by then I will also have a job and be finding the need to make some changes to my routine.

Say no to Diet Coke – Say yes to water – and iced tea, lemonade, koolaid, crystal lite etc. My DC habit is back with a vengeance! And that won’t bode well for getting fit. I can have two cans a day from now on (special allowances can be made for dining out because fountain diet coke is like nectar!). But I will be challenging myself to drink AT LEAST 64oz of sugar free liquid a day. I’d love to say 32oz three times a day but let’s not get carried away. The extra liquid will be good for keeping my body hydrated on my runs. This one will be hard – but I can do it!

Be active 6 days a week – this one may be a struggle sometimes but I know I’ll be thankful for it. I am not going to require I actually go to the gym 6 days a week, just be physically active. That can be a two hour workout at the gym, a run around town or a walk on the bikepath. Just this past weekend we had some Redbox movies to return. It’s a short walk and the sun was out so FF & I walked there. As far as I’m concerned, that counts as physical activity. I could count sex too but I think I would be cheating – I pretty much wouldn’t need to go to the gym if I did. Hehe – don’t mean to brag but HEY NOW! I’d like to aim for at least 3 core workouts a week and 3 runs (each one increasing in intensity and/or length) in addition to using the Wii Fit (mostly for yoga) and getting some upper body exercises in. A bikini shows a lot of skin yall – I have no room for errors! I’m also planning on participating in some classes. Zumba for one. And I’m going to check out a “Ballet Body” class with KP.

Structured Meals and Snacks – Since I am home all day I often find myself foraging through the cupboards and fridge for food to snack on. I am a boredom eater. It’s terrible. I’ve tried not keeping snacks I like in the house but I always find something to eat. I also have been pretty much skipping breakfast since I lost my job. I’ve never been one to be hungry when I first wake up – it takes a few hours. When I used to get up at 6, I was ready to eat by 9. Now that I’m getting up at 9, I don’t get hungry til noon – and then it’s lunchtime. And I can’t just eat breakfast then and lunch later because I have to leave the house at 2:30 to grab a bus & meet FF for the gym. So, I guess I start waking up earlier. I will eat three meals every day. And I can snack – just make smarter choices and following serving suggestions.

Accept the Things I Cannot Change: I will always be pasty. Yes, tan skin ould show off toned muscles so much better than my translucent epidermis but not only is it physically impossible for me to tan – it seems a bit ridiculous that I would spend this much time and effort getting healthy, why would I willingly risk skin cancer? Duh! Also – as much as I want that body back that I had at 16 (especially cuz that bitch didn’t appreciate it ONE BIT!) I have to realize I am 30. I am not stick thin & I don’t have a metabolism that is so fast people often accuse me of having a hollow leg – or an eating disorder (yes, both of those are things people have ACTUALLY accused me of – on more than one occasion). I have accepted that my body is now more of a pear shape than an hourglass. Now, I just need to learn to not only accept all these things – I need to learn to LOVE these things.

I will be using technology to help me on this quest. I will obviously be using this blog as a place to report my triumphs and tragedies. I’ll also be using the Wii Fit and some apps I downloaded for my iPhone – mainly RunKeeper and Shape’s LBD Workout and Shape’s Flat Abs. I’ll get some more info on these up very soon – but they all keep their own records and I’m pretty happy so far with the performance of each one! So check back next Thursday to see how week 1 went. And if you’re joining me on this journey – tell me your goals! XO

5 responses

  1. Good for you on avoiding the scale….I haven’t stepped on one in months. Today, I worked out at the Y for the first time, got out of the pool & saw an evil scale right there. Somehow, I avoided the temptation.

    Good on you for posting here (but you’re not happy with that body? Wowza – you’re hot now, I’m not sure I’d be able to handle looking at pictures of you when you’re actually happy with the results), it’s a great way to keep yourself accountable. Good luck on the 6 day thing – I had grand plans for 6 days of workouts, myself, and that’s fallen flat…I’m lucky to get 3 good workouts & 2 half workouts a week. Kids suck time.

    I’ve successfully kicked my Diet Coke habit, but I’m with you – fountain diet coke is nectar (beat only by diet Mt Dew), but it hasn’t been easy. Now, if I could kick the wine habit, I have a feeling that my belly wouldn’t exactly be an issue anymore.

    April 7, 2011 at 8:08 am

  2. ooh diet coke is nectar from the gods. I, however, kicked mine as well… so its very doable… I just mainline coffee now.

    You look amazing just how you are! I would love that body… I admire you and your ambition. I hope to find mine again too. I need to start running again but after working 10 hr days, I just cant find the energy!

    Glad you are back blogging!

    April 7, 2011 at 8:31 am

  3. Kit

    You Go! I’m also trying to lose those pesky extra few pounds. It’s hard but it’s working. I’ve been using Myfitnesspal to track calories and it’s VERY motivating. I was also running a lot but got sick and had to stop. I’m going to start running again soon – maybe today if it’s nice? But between, working, parenting, blogging, running, dieting there is ZERO and I mean ABSOLUTELY no willpower and discipline left to address the Diet Coke addiction. And I’m totally okay with that – for now. When I am killing it at work, and I am in that bikini I will have a celebratory Diet Coke and then MAYBE I will try to kick the habit. But until then? A girl’s gotta have at least one bad habit, right?
    Love you,
    Kit

    April 7, 2011 at 8:35 am

  4. I’m in! Your plan sounds a lot like my plan. I have a trainer (which I’ve had for a year bud didn’t really take seriously until, oh, a month ago?)and she really tries to motivate my sorry ass, but sometimes I need a little extra motivation during the week. My friends are ZERO help, so I’m excited that you’re doing this.

    I took before pictures of myself a year ago….I don’t think I look much different now than I did then. More muscular in my arms and legs maybe but the gut has not gone down.

    My biggest problems are my inner thighs and belly, too!

    April 7, 2011 at 10:49 am

  5. Dee

    Did you look at those pics? Gorgeous! Yours is the body I want! haha! Weight has always been an issue for me and I wish that I could find the dedication that you have. I’m looking forward to seeing your progress 🙂

    April 7, 2011 at 12:22 pm

Leave a Reply

