This is my blog…nacho blog

Belated

January 27, 2011 is a day I will remember forever. And luckily for me, not because something bad happened – but good things. MANY OF THEM!! And I am grateful. I feel like I don’t share happiness here often enough – and I want to change that! Let’s start at the beginning. Wait, I’m not sure where that is. Fine, I am picking a starting point and your job is to accept it ok? You rock!

You remember how I turned 30 in September? Well FF isn’t a big gift giver. Well, not physical gifts that you unwrap. He would rather provide someone with an experience that they can look forward to, enjoy and remember. Last year he took me to Boston to see my beloved Red Sox play at Fenway for the FIRST TIME EVER! This year he wanted to go bigger (that’s what she said!) and he knows my love of ink. I had two tattoos when we met and have been inked two more times since then (read all about my first four tattoos here) so he told me he was buying my tattoo #5 for my 30th birthday! Sweetness! There was one catch however – he wanted ink too. He has virgin skin (read: never been tattooed!). He’s wanted one since he was 18 but between a fear of needles and a problem committing to one image for the rest of his life plagued him. So I said I would wait until he was ready. So I’ve been waiting, patiently (well, for me anyway!)

I first heard about Modern Bird Studios on The Twitter (I’m sorry, I LOVE calling it that!). I even know how the chain went. I followed Blair (@heirtoblair) and then followed Mandy (@TeamMandy) who insisted everyone start following Gregg (@the_lame_sauce). So I did as I was told. Then I learned that Gregg is an artist. Him and his lovely wife Megan created a business they call Modern Bird Studios. Gregg covers the creative side of things while Megan holds down the fort when it comes to the “un-fun” part of the business. They create one of a kind pieces out of photos. Go check out their gallery. Stalk them on Twitter and Facebook! But wait, not yet! Keep reading first. Sheesh!

I told FF about Modern Bird right away. he didn’t seem to have the desire for one the way I did. Then he joined Twitter (@red_i_jedi802) and him & Gregg formed an instant, hilarious, no-homo bond (no offense, it’s an inside joke with them that I’ve been lucky enough to be made privy to). FF warmed up to the art and when Modern Bird announced their holiday contest we entered hoping to being home our very own piece.

We didn’t win 😦 But we came in the Top 10 thanks to all of our Facebook friends and our Tweeps. We knew we couldn’t compete with all the cute babies! But we resolved to save and we set a goal – we would own a Modern Bird piece by the end of 2011. And then Christmas came. With it a gift certificate from FF’s mom for our very own piece! Then he surprised me with an additional gift certificate! I was over the moon! I was getting a Modern Bird!!!

Gregg and I had discussed what I wanted several times in previous months. I mean, we knew it was going to happen at some point – might as well plan on it right! He asked for some artistic freedom to which I responded, “Hell to the yes!” So when the time came, I didn’t even choose a picture. I sent him these SIX pictures

and told him to go to town. I didn’t want to choose colors but I did let him know that my fav was green, FF’s is red (shocker!) and that the colors in our living room (when we finally finish it) will be Cranberry & Black – but that I didn’t want him to feel like he had to use any of that. So that was that. FF & I had said we didn’t want to see proofs. We trusted Gregg enough to know that we would love anything he did for us. But I caved. And I looked at the proofs. And I cried when I saw them for the first time because I had never seen anything so breathtakingly beautiful in my life!! Wait, that sounds narcisstic doesn’t it? Shit, y’all know what I mean!! But FF stood strong and he didn’t even know what picture was being used! I admire him.

Fast forward to January 27, 2011. FF & I FINALLY went to get tattooed. I chose a quote from one of my favorite songs, Crystal Ball by Pink. He chose a design to honor his grandparents who were key players in his childhood. It was AWESOME. And then? We got home and there was a package on our doorstep…from Modern Bird Studios!!! So, I got my birthday and Christmas presents on the same day!!! We couldn’t have planned that if we tried! It was a lot of excitement. So we recorded a video to showcase our excitement

So check back for tomorrow’s Wordless Wednesday post and see what the piece looks like in its new home. You’ll also get to see which quote we picked to enrich this beautiful piece. I’ll embed the video too – forgive the words 🙂 And also get some pictures of the new tattoos (in case you haven’t seen them all over Twitter!). XO

3 responses

  1. This is like a cliffhanger! Boo, kinda, for making us wait a day to see the picture. 😉 Definitely sounds like you’re pleased with the result though.

    February 8, 2011 at 12:11 pm

  2. Jaysey

    Man, this is a post full of good! Love it!

    February 8, 2011 at 6:10 pm

  3. I love this story and I love how you are both so in love with each other. I wish more people could find the kind of happiness you both have.

    Can’t wait until tomorrow’s post.

    February 9, 2011 at 11:00 am

Leave a Reply

