This is my blog…nacho blog

I Need Your Opinions Please

So, FF & I should be receiving our Modern Bird piece from the UPS man in the next few days. I’m planning on building a shrine to this thing! I want to get some cool lighting for it – but I can’t find any. I want something that can go on the floor and shine up. Because we rent I want to avoid hanging anything more than necessary (say the piece of art!). So if anyone knows of any affordable options for something like that please let me know (I mean like $30 or so). Also, I want to do a custom vinyl decal underneath it about love. Something that signifies our bond and puts it into words. I saw a quote on Tumblr the other day by Ani DiFranco & fell in love with it. I tried to price it out via Etsy but it was gonna be like $100 or more. So I went searching for an alternative. And I fell in love with another quote. It’s from “Forever” by Ben Harper which is the song I will talk down the aisle to someday when FF get married. (notice I didn’t say “if.” We are now saying “when” instead. I like it!). After I decided that $20 was perfect, I got an e-mail from an Etsy seller telling me she could do what I wanted for $20. SHIT!!! So now I have two quotes that I am in love with and I don’t know which to choose. Please give me your preference in the comments section. And hell, I might regret it but if you have other suggestions, leave those in the comments too.

What do YOU think? XO

9 responses

  1. Gully Girl

    I like the second one…simpler for being under a piece of art.

    January 20, 2011 at 12:18 pm

  2. I like the first one, it says a lot about what makes a couple ‘work’.

    My mom is the queen of low-budget decorating and she uses what she calls an ‘uplight’. I know that she has gotten them specifically meant for that (probably from a discount department store) but I’ve also seen her improvise. You know those clamp on lights with the adjustable neck, you just aim it up. You will have to find some kind of floor piece to clamp it on, like a container of magazines or something…

    January 20, 2011 at 12:21 pm

  3. The second one, sometimes less words make a more powerful quote…and that’s the case in this insatance.

    January 20, 2011 at 1:29 pm

  4. Jaysey

    The first one!!

    January 20, 2011 at 1:52 pm

  5. Ah, our first dance was to a Ben Harper song (Happily Everafter) I vote for Ben!!

    January 20, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  6. Aw geez.Choices choices. I think they are both good, but I have to go with the first quote since I believe it to be the better.

    I see the first as being how couples can define themselves and meet challenges together that may lie ahead and strengthen their bond.

    As far as lighting, I found an affordable wireless art lamp on Amazon. It comes with a clip system that will mount to the back of the artwork frame. It’s called the Rite Lite LPL600 6 LED Wireless Picture Light Grey, and it’s just under $20.

    January 20, 2011 at 5:06 pm

  7. Beth

    The 2nd one!!

    January 20, 2011 at 8:53 pm

  8. I like the second one… very simple. Very poignant. Though both are great.

    January 21, 2011 at 12:18 pm

Leave a Reply

