This is my blog…nacho blog

Recycle Yourself!

On Monday night, FF & I attended a Tweet Up. Only once before this had we entered into a situation where we only knew people virtually and were inviting them into our real lives. We exchanged real names (this is happening more by the way. As some of you cross from the twitter/blog land into FB friends. At some point I will slip up and give you my name. I suppose it’s not all that big of a deal.) and chatted over breakfast. It was nice! But Monday night was different because we had a purpose above & beyond socializing. We were there to learn about Organ & Tissue donation and being asked to spread the word. After some of the speeches I heard and the people I met, how could I NOT spread the word about this?! It was an AMAZING time (besides getting to see KatMaund & Brighieb again, meeting the awesome CheekoBear and introducing VermontAnne to twitter – good times!)!

I don’t know how things work in other states, but in Vermont we have a (wait! USED to have! I was going to take a picture of mine but it’s not there!) place on the back of our license to check whether or not we would like to donate our organs. You either signed it or you didn’t and that was that. Well, I’m here to educate you – THAT SIGNATURE IS NOT ENOUGH! Also, having your close friends and family members know your wishes isn’t enough. Say you had a terrible accident and were killed instantly (God forbid) and you didn’t have your license on you and no family was available immediately? There is a short window for organ donation and every second counts. If there was a registry, the hospital could pull up your name and BOOM! Know that it was ok to use your organs to extend the lives of others. Wouldn’t that be great? Well guess what…there IS a registry!!! In Vermont you just go to www.DonateLifeVT.org and in a few minutes you’re done. You even have the option of spreading the word to your friends with a handy e-mail template they give you. Again, this is for Vermont but I don’t doubt for a second that every state has something similar.

At this meeting we met two heart transplant recipients, a double kidney transplant recipient and the donor & recipient of a kidney. A man spoke about his 17 year old daughter’s tragic death and how her corneas helped someone else see the light of day again (or maybe for the first time ever!). We spoke about how Christine Taylor Green’s organs were used to help save the life of a little girl in Boston. Did you know that by becoming a donor, you could extend/save/enhance the lives of FIFTY others?! That’s crazy awesome amazing!!!! So what’s stopping you? Search the internet for your state’s registry TODAY! No one likes to think about their death, but think about the lives that could be saved by spending 5 minutes of your time. For more information and fun facts, I’ve posted them on Tumblr. Until then. XO

5 responses

  1. alliegresham

    I am so glad you shared this. This cause has always been near and dear to my heart. I signed up years ago to be on the national bone marrow registry. I went thru the testing and typing which was very easy. They just draw blood. Some places charge but mine didn’t. Anyway – I was / still am on the list as a donor if anyone popped up as a match to me. Now as a cancer survivor myself I can not currently give blood or platelets and have no idea about the bone marrow registry. I have to contact them. But I also am a big advocate of donation. Everyone I that knows me knows that if something happened to me, donate my organs! Anyway – thank you for sharing. I am so glad to hear that you are an advocate as well. Another reason why I love you so much! XOXO

    January 18, 2011 at 5:08 pm

  2. I’m so glad you wrote about this! It’s a cause that is very important to me (and many others!) and I’m glad you and FF are jumping on the bandwagon.

    January 19, 2011 at 8:38 am

  3. I’m so glad you wrote about this! It’s a cause that is very important to me and I’m glad you and FF have jumped on the awareness bandwagon. So great to see you two again and I’m looking forward to many more meetups!

    January 19, 2011 at 8:41 am

  4. As someone who has received 2 transplants, organ donation is a cause very near and dear to my heart.

    Thanks for talking about it.

    Thanks for signing your card

    Real lives get changed in real ways

    Jason

    January 19, 2011 at 10:21 am

  5. Thank you for sharing! The tweetup was very successful for us and spreading the word will help save more lives! THank you for your support.

    January 19, 2011 at 11:59 am

Leave a Reply

