This is my blog…nacho blog

Seven Meals

Last week I went on a long rant about football and food. I asked what you would pick if you could only eat the same seven meals for the rest of your life. And I promised you my answer today. So even though no one answered my question, I’m still holding up my end of the deal (see what I did there? Yeah, called out my readers. Bad blogger etiquette. So sue me 🙂 ) Below, in no particular order are my seven favorite meals. Please note – these are my favorite meals if I didn’t have to worry about counting carbs, attending Body Pump classes and treadmill runs (lots of carbs, calories and butter – yum!)

1.) Steak (tenderloin or filet please) cooked medium rare. Creamy, buttery garlic mashed potatoes. Sauteed mushrooms (in real butter). Green Bean Casserole (with extra French fried onions). Spice cake with cream cheese frosting for dessert.

2.) French toast – REAL French toast. On thick white bread, sprinkled with cinnamon. And I don’t want real VT maple syrup (blasphemous, I know) but I do want syrup that isn’t sugar free. That shit is gross y’all. I eat it – but rarely. I also want my French toast served with homefries (NOT hashbrowns/shredded potatoes – wedged potatoes sprinkled with garlic & lemon pepper and FRIED in, you guessed it, BUTTER!) and lots of bacon – EXTRA CRISPY (I like it pretty much burnt. Chewy bacon = gross). Also, I want several large glasses of fresh squeezed OJ.

3.) Chip Beef Gravy (aka shit on a shingle)- ok, this is one thing that most people think is gross. but I LOVE it! It is one of my all time favorite comfort foods. Now you may have heard me mention I don’t like gravy – and this is true when referencing gravy you put on potatoes (turkey, beef etc.) but I do like gravy on meat (ham gravy is my favorite!) and French Fries (yummy Nectar’s!). However, I DON’T like other gravies my parents used to make – bolgna gravy, hamburg gravy – basically, milk, flour, butter and some kind of meat. but Chipped beef? Holy YUM! I have never made it myself but I often request my dad to make it for me. When I’m desperate, I buy the Stouffer’s frozen one – just as yummy! And FTR, I don’t eat it ON anything – right out of a bowl!

4.) Another comfort food/homecooked by daddy meal that I look forward to is chicken and rice. He puts skin on, bone in chicken pieces (thighs, breasts, legs) in the pressure cooker (which I am TERRIFIED of and would never use!) and then cooks white rice (NOT the instant kind. The fluffy, sticky DELICIOUS kind!) Once the chicken is off the bones he mixes the chicken and rice with cream of mushroom soup. It’s like a rich, creamy, hearty stew. So effing good! I want some right NOW!

5.) Burgers. I LOVE burgers! I like them big & juicy and barely cooked. I like them with ketchup, bacon, onions and cheese. Serve them up with some crispy onion rings and a side of horseradish mayo and I’m in heaven! OMG – I need to stop writing and take a snack break! I don’t think this clementine is gonna do it.

6.) I have to put one takeout meal on this list. And if I could only pick one, it would be boneless wings from Wings Over Burlington. I’ve raved about this place before. These wings are big, juicy, meaty & amazingly tasty. I love the honey mustard and sweet onion BBQ flavors. I’d add some garlic parm waffle fries to my order too and wash it all down with a Miller Lite or two Or hell, a whole six pack!)

7.) Hmmm, one meal to go. I guess I’m gonna stick with my theme of homemade and carb laden and say goulash. Elbows, italian sausage, mushrooms & tomato sauce. My favorite thing about this meal? lefotvers! And it tastes better the next day – especially when you add a little bit of BUTTER to keep it from drying out 🙂 Oh, and add some crazy good garlic bread to it too. Oh yum!

So there you have it. My seven meals I would eat for the rest of my life. What do you think? Do you agree? Disagree? Give me some of your ideas! XO

4 responses

  1. I think, if pressed, that I could eat nicely-seasoned black beans and rice every day for the rest of my life.

    December 17, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  2. I’m with ya on the steak and burgers. I would have to have a good Italian meal like lasagna with garlic bread and Caesar salad and a great red wine. And a must have Tex-Mex fajita meal with homemade salsa and guacamole with margaritas. My take out would be the chicken bacon ranch pizza from Dominoes. Then I get stuck. Which I why I didn’t answer the first time!

    December 19, 2010 at 2:24 pm

    • I wanted to add one more meal – corned beef & cabbage. OMG – yum! I’m most definitely an Irish lass so this one sounds so good. But your meals sound awesome too!

      December 20, 2010 at 8:02 am

  3. These all sound pretty great to me! Although I do love me
    some mexican – tacos, taco salad, enchiladas… mmm…

    December 23, 2010 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

