This is my blog…nacho blog

You Can Tell A Lot About Someone By…

After the heaviness of yesterday’s post i decided to do something a bit lighter in content. I have found myself in awe of other people’s iPhones (no lie, sometimes I am in awe of my OWN iPhone!). I like to see what people list on the front page. What apps do they use the most & why. So today I am posting mine and I’ll tell you a little bit about why and how I use each app. And if you enjoy – post this on your blog or Tumblr and post a link in the comments. I will stalk come check it out & comment!

So for any iPhone users out there you know the 4 icons on the bottom are the most important. No matter what screen you go to, those choices remain for you. So my most important 4 apps:

Phone – not really something I use a whole lot but when I need it & I don’t want to have to go searching for it

Messages – I text…A LOT! I’m on the unlimited plan thankfully. Although nothing compares to the number of texts back & forth between FF & I back in the day. They would easily surpass 100 a day. Truth.

Mail – I have 3 e-mail accounts (not including work) and this is the easiest way to keep track of all 3

HootSuite – God knows I need my Twitter fix like CONSTANTLY!

Weather – I use this in the morning to get ready for work. It’s still dark out so I can’t see if there is or has been precipitation and the door to get outside is ALL THE WAY DOWNSTAIRS. Trust me, this helps!

Camera – I currently have 697 photos on my phone. From pics of me in the bathroom mirror, to one’s for FF’s eyes only. Pics of the nephews, of friends & random things I see on my daily walks. I should probably just upload them all to a flash drive so I have more room for music but…that requires me to work right? 🙂

Notes – I am a crazy list maker! This is now where I write all my shopping lists, to do lists and I even write blog drafts here from time to time…

iPod – um, duh! I have about 900 songs in here on playlists called “Brown Chicken Brown Cow” (shouldn’t need an explanation) “Sing Along” “Lucy’s Dinner” (updated dinner/jazz music) and “Couch to 5K”. I put them all on shuffle during my daily walk to work

Calculator – I use this ALL THE TIME when calculating insulin dosages.

imdb – Do you ever watch tv and go, “I wonder who that guy is” or “I wonder what so & so celebrity is up to now” or even “What else has that actor been in?” Well I do it constantly and with this app I know the answer to my questions in minutes!

Facebook – yes, I use Facebook, I admit it. I like being able to keep up with my IRL friends. Yesterday I used it to send messages to friends who had moved and I needed their address for Christmas cards. It’s handy 🙂

SportsCenter – FF & I are both sports nuts. For the record, I was into college basketball, Nascar & baseball before he came along. I’m always checking in to see how my Catamounts, Red Sox & Ravens are doing.

Google – So convenient. I mostly use this for access to my blog reader but it’s come in handy for quick web searches too.

PhoneFlicks – I LOVE having my Netflix account on my phone. Hear about a movie? Boom – added to queue. SO freaking awesome!

Safari – as you most likely know, the default web browser for the iPhone. I have my work e-mail and a few other important sites bookmarked but I rarely use it. Although just like the phone, I’d rather it have it there & not need it than have to go looking for it to look something up!

Tumblr – I’m not posting as much over there right now but this was handy when I would have a rant while riding the bus (often) that was too long for Twitter. I plan on getting back up on the Tumblr horse soon and I am considering doing a voice memo of me singing my favorite Christmas Carol (I’ll need to know people will listen before I go through all of that though!)

GB – Glucose Buddy. I don’t use this app. I tried to make myself & it’s just not user friendly. But I keep it here to remind myself to always be aware.

Flickr – I also haven’t been using Flickr much lately. I’m hoping to get a bunch of photos uploaded this week now that my home office is complete (squee!). I haven’t looked into but my assumption is I can take pics and sent them straight from my phone to my photo stream. Again, for right now this app sits here as a reminder to get my shit together!

WordPress – I rarely write posts or drafts on my phone (and when I do I use the Notes app – so weird right?!) but I do like to check comments!

PingChat – this is how I communicate with my girl G. Since she’s in Canada & neither of us have International plans each text costs us $.25 and each picture message costs $.50. That adds up. And while she’s worth it (totally) we started using this FREE service where we can send text, pics and voice notes. It’s awesome! If you have friends in other countries you would be silly not to download this app! Or hell, get everyone to use it and we can all cancel our expensive text packages!

So that’s it. Do you feel like you know me better now 🙂 So come on, share with me. Please! XO

4 responses

  1. I have an Android phone, so I’m not constrained to a 5X4 icon screen.

    That makes me awesomer.

    Seriously, though, cool screen. Maybe I’ll blog about mine tonight!

    December 7, 2010 at 6:47 am

  2. Matt

    If I knew how to take screen shots of my Android phone, I’d share too. (Too lazy to look it up.)

    Very cool list though! My only question is why is Angry Birds not listed here?

    December 7, 2010 at 10:23 am

    • Ha! I tried Angry Birds and got frustrated so I deleted it. I don’t have many games at all on my phone. I think Solitaire & word search maybe? I am not good at games…I lack patience 🙂

      December 7, 2010 at 10:49 am

  3. Matt

    You may be the only person in the world who has not become addicted to Angry Birds like a heroin junkie. Good for you!

    December 7, 2010 at 12:39 pm

Leave a Reply

