This is my blog…nacho blog

My First Ambulance Ride

So I promised here (hit Play and listen!) that I would post a blog all about my emergency situation from last week. So here goes…

I am in love with my CGM. I watch it all the time as it tells me where my blood glucose is at & where it’s going. I find it fucking fascinating I tell you! Well, I have discovered many things in my first week with Dex (still looking for a name. So far Zach is the only one to submit one. His idea? Dexy – as in the The Midnight Runners. Catchy for sure. But not quite right. I am currently scouring baby name websites for names that mean constant or watchful. Greg is a nice name but I don’t think that will work either. HALP!). I learned it takes A LOT longer for my insulin to work than food. Some food kicks in by 15 minutes to half an hour and sometimes I can wait as long as 3 to see my insulin start bringing numbers down. I learned that it beeps a lot. But those beeps are not supposed to irritate me (even if they do) they are meant to alert me and most importantly, help save my life.

On Wednesday I was having the same problem I’d been having in the days before. Extreme insulin resistance in the mornings. Even so, I grabbed a bagel before I got on the bus at 6am. I bolused for it (and a few extra units because bagels are EVIL & need A LOT more insulin than you would think!) Around 9am I got hungry again so I decided to eat the turkey sandwich I brought for lunch. I bolused for that as well as corrected my still very high sugar.  When I got into a meeting at 11 I was hovering around 400mg/dl (VERY high). I figured I had enough insulin on board & would figure out what to do after my meeting. No such luck. My fall alarm went off (falling more than 3 mg/dl per minute) and my next reading had gone from the high 300s to the mid 200s. Then 180. Then 130. Then 90. At 78 I excused myself from the meeting. I still had two double down arrows (meaning I was falling quickly) and I knew I needed sugar and QUICKLY! (PS – this happened in 45 minutes)

I got to my desk and let a coworker know what was happening. I grabbed some skittles and started tweeting. I was scared. Like for REAL – terrified. So I thought I would let my twitter friends keep me company. Luckily some awesome people from the DOC weighed in and helped. A coworker grabbed me some oj & I just kept ingesting sugar (note: skittles & orange juice? TERRIBLE together. You’re welcome). I was still dropping. When I got down to 39 and still had double down arrows, I called the emergency number for my endocrinologist’s office. They said I needed to get to the ER, stat. Since I work 20+ minutes away from a medical facility & everyone was nervous, they called an ambulance. My coworkers were worried (rightfully so) that I would lose consciousness in the car and they wouldn’t know what to do. So the EMTs came (among them? None other than the girl my ex husband decided was better than our marriage) and took me to the ER. My fingerstick showed 74 in the ambulance and my CGM FINALLY showed me an up arrow. Sis & FF met me at the hospital. I needed no fluids, no IV and no meds. I did not lose consciousness. I am thankful that my 1st diabetic emergency (and I pray my only one ever!) was more embarrassing than anything (PS – turns out I didn’t calculate my insulin needs correctly with my mid-morning correction bolus & took too much. Although I’m still not sure how it fell so quickly!) I thank you all again for your concern & support. Special thanks to FF for postposing his Thanksgiving trip to see his family so he could stay home with me while I had to be observed for 24 hours.  And ambulances? Just not cool. If I never see the inside of another one for the rest of my life, it will still be too soon. XO

8 responses

  1. Glad to hear you’re ok and you’ve got an experience to learn from!

    Sad you’re not using my suggestion 😦

    Oh well…

    November 29, 2010 at 12:32 pm

  2. gbugg

    Oh My Goodness!! where was I when all this was happening?! I’m SO happy to hear that you’re ok, so, so scary.

    HUGGSSSSS TO YOU!

    Don’t do that again… or else…

    Love you!

    November 29, 2010 at 12:54 pm

  3. That story has an AWESOME ending. Whew!

    I can imagine skittles and oj are gross, but they seemed to do the trick.

    Here’s to a very boring week!

    November 29, 2010 at 2:29 pm

  4. I think the name Greg is super funny. or Lloyd or something like that. I don’t know why but it makes me laugh.

    November 30, 2010 at 11:04 am

  5. Oh my gosh how scary! I am SO glad you’re ok!

    November 30, 2010 at 1:44 pm

  6. alliegresham

    I just wanna know if you punched the chick?? =) I am glad you are ok love!

    December 6, 2010 at 11:19 am

    • Nah, she had to put up with him. She’d been punished enough 🙂

      December 6, 2010 at 11:28 am

  7. Pingback: Memories – Diabetes Blog Week – Day 3 | Nachoblog's Blog

Leave a Reply

