This is my blog…nacho blog

CGM = Newborn?

So last week I took the day off work so FF & I could visit my Endocrinologist & my CDE (Certified Diabetes Educator) for a super exciting day – I was getting a CGM (Continuous Glucose Monitor)!!!! I sent the paperwork in on July 19 – yes FIVE months to get this little piece of technology

But don’t let the size fool you – this thing is AMAZING! It constantly tells me where my blood glucose levels are. Not only that but it tells me where they’re headed! So exciting! So I can look down at my receiver and see it say that my levels are even, falling, rising, falling rapidly or rising rapidly (so many options!). This CGM will be instrumental in bringing my A1C down from its current (turrible) state of 8.4. And hopefully I will be pumping again using Omnipod by early 2011. Combine those two things and it’s just about as “normal” as you can get for a PWD. I’ve noticed my insulin needs increase as I got the CGM – I’m now taking about 9 shots a day. It’s a lot but I’m determined to use the knowledge this technology gives me. But, as days go by, I realize there is A LOT of responsibility that comes with having a CGM and it does indeed (as far as I’m concerned) compare to bringing home a newborn. See for yourself:

1.) I was in love with it the moment I saw it. I couldn’t wait to show it off to everyone and tell people all about it.

2.) I can’t let it out of my sight. If the receiver is more than 5 feet away, it won’t work.

3.) It awakes me at odd times in the night. It makes strange noises which I can’t decipher without actually picking it up & checking it.

4.) It wakes me up whenever I roll onto it (ok, thankfully this ISN’T an actual newborn!)

5.) After 5 days of listening to it buzz & beep and I’m ready to let somebody else take over for a little bit. (Also, not a real newborn so I can’t get a babysitter. Although I could turn it off I suppose…)

6.) The first sensor change was like giving a new baby its first at home bath – there was sweat & tears (mine) and I was scared I couldn’t do it on my own or as well as I could with the help of professionals.

So 6 reasons that starting up a CGM is like having a newborn. Also – the 2 hour start up? Is MUCH easier but can be compared to the 9 months you wait to meet your baby – it seems like it takes forever, you keep checking in to see if its over and when you get the screen telling you to enter 2 start up BGs – a new sensor has been born 🙂

I’m still trying to think up a name for my device so any comments and suggestions are appreciated! And still taking questions about diabetes. VLOG will be posted by the end of the month – I PROMISE!!! XOXO

3 responses

  1. I have found that the receiver can be in a totally different room and still works! You’ll figure it all out with time. There are times that it’ll be close but won’t read. It is finicky like a newborn! It totally changes your life. Let me know if you ever have questions!

    November 22, 2010 at 9:58 am

  2. I vote you name it “Dexy” after the 1982 One-hit wonder band “Dexy’s Midnight Runners.”

    Also, because it’s made by Dexcom.

    November 22, 2010 at 10:07 am

  3. Pingback: My First Ambulance Ride « Nachoblog's Blog

Leave a Reply

