This is my blog…nacho blog

National DBlog Day

Today is the day when all people who have diabetes or any association with the disease write a collective post about it. This year’s topic? Six Things You Want People to Know About Diabetes. I’m scared about this assignment. On one hand, there are far more than 6 things I want people to know. On the other hand, can I come up with six ideas I want people to know about this disease? So I’m not gonna think about this too much. I’m just going to dive in and see where it takes me…

1.) You don’t “catch” diabetes. I wasn’t diagnosed with diabetes because I ate too much sugar as a child. I had some kind of predisposition that caused my pancreas to stop producing insulin on its own. There is nothing I could have done to prevent it. I can eat well & exercise now in order to help maintain good blood glucose levels but NOTHING caused or could have prevented my need to inject insulin.

2.) Nothing bothers me more than when someone is overly sympathetic and/or says they couldn’t do what I do (the testing & injecting). If you told me 5 years ago this would be my life, I wouldn’t believe you. But, here I am with calloused fingertips and a bruised belly. I don’t do it because I enjoy it. I don’t love the feeling of needles poking my skin. I do it because I MUST. I do it so I can stay ALIVE. And if you were in the same position, you would find the strength to do it too.

3.) Sometimes I am embarrassed to have diabetes. When I am in a meeting, I am hesitant to tell people, “I’m feeling low.” I will hide the sweating & the shakes as long as humanly possible. Once in a while I will duck out under pretenses I have to use the bathroom. I just hate when the attention is on me and 10 people are asking me if I feel all right. On the same token, everyone at work knows I have diabetes. HR, the receptionist and my coworkers all have my emergency contact information and I have two people who can inject Glucagon if (God forbid) it’s ever needed.

4.) I believe in a cure. I like to think I’ll see it in mu lifetime. Someday PWDs will have artificial pancreases or hell, maybe even get one last shot that provides a lifetime of freedom from more needles.

5.) I live in guilt all the time. I feel guilty for not checking my sugar often enough. For eating that handful of candy. For making people feel they have to prepare special foods for me. It’s what I feel is the single most terrible thing about having diabetes.

6.) I wouldn’t change my life for anything. Yes, diabetes sucks. There’s no question about it. But it has taught me so much. It’s taught me the importance of nutrition & fitness. It’s taught me patience when waiting for wonky BGs to even out. It’s given me something to educate others about. It’s given me a feeling of knowing my own body (and standing up for rights associated with said body) that I’ve never experienced before.

These are 6 things I want you to know about diabetes. Many other members of the DOC are participating today as well so make sure to read! And I’m hoping to post a special Q&A on Sunday for World Diabetes Day. What questions do you have that I didn’t answer here? XO

8 responses

  1. Great six things, and I totally identify with “you can’t catch diabetes.” I remember, when I was a little kid, that a girl on the bus told everyone I was contagious. It was an ugly, rotten scene and I still remember exactly how it made me feel.

    Thanks for sharing!!

    November 9, 2010 at 1:36 pm

  2. Great post of 6 things… I echo what Kerri said above, as I’d been told that too. And I especially recall the time my mom slugged a woman who was worried that someone I – being a little 6 or 7 year old in public elementary school – would contaminate her child. That was in the 80s, but still… I’m the same as you as far as work meetgsins – try to conceal as long as possible to not interfere!

    November 9, 2010 at 3:12 pm

  3. I am so with you on no. 2. People always say they wouldn’t be able to test their blood sugar so often or give themselves a needle multiple times a day like we do. Well we don’t have a choice when it’s that or dying! Grrr. And your no. 4 made me smile 🙂

    November 9, 2010 at 3:12 pm

  4. gbugg

    I love you. You’re amazing. ❤ Great blog post! And I know we can all say it, but you should NEVER feel guilty for anything, ever. ❤

    xo
    Bug

    November 9, 2010 at 4:00 pm

  5. #2 annoys me so much! I hate when people are overly amazed with the life of a diabetic, though. Because, really, I’m not doing anything that anyone else wouldn’t do in my position. I am not Mother Theresa or Oprah or something. I am doing the best I can, and they would do. I mean, no one wants to die if they can help it, right? Great list! You’re “winging it” worked!

    November 10, 2010 at 1:19 pm

  6. I was looking for a job in Blacksburg and I came across this company. Their area of research made me think of you – and I thought you might care to look at it. It’s pretty cool…they’re working on finding a way to transplant islets cells cells from a pig’s pancreas into a human pancreas, eliminating the need for insulin for 2-3 years. So you’d pretty much get a minor transplant every few years. It’s really cool stuff and who knows where it will go, but I thought you might find it interesting…

    here’s the company’s website: http://www.revivicor.com/about.html

    November 18, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    • Wow – thanks Heather! I’ve heard about this project and I’ll definitely be looking into a bit more! Awesome!

      November 18, 2010 at 1:02 pm

  7. Pingback: Looking Back « Nachoblog's Blog

Leave a Reply

