This is my blog…nacho blog

Pretty vs. Cute

I brought this topic up on Twitter a few weeks ago but I thought it would make good fodder for a Monday post (read: mindless). FF & I were watching something on tv. Per usual I can’t remember what it was (also per usual, it doesn’t matter) but I do know a man called a woman pretty. There were other compliments too but I looked over at him and said, “That sounds like something you would say.” And I was all giggly and waiting for confirmation. He looked at me (straight faced) and said, “You’re not pretty. You’re cute.” WHAT?!?!?!?! First off, the “you’re not pretty” stung a bit. Even the “You’re cute” didn’t do much to assuage my hurt feelings. But I gave him the benefit of the doubt and asked him to explain himself. In his mind, “pretty” is what you would call a little girl. “Cute” is reserved for older people. Ok, I still don’t get that either, but I can’t fault him for having an opinion right? To me a girl can be both cute AND pretty. As well as gorgeous, hot, sexy, beautiful…it’s all a state of mind and a mood you create. The pictures of me from the wedding a few weeks ago? I felt gorgeous. Running errands with this weekend wearing ripped jeans, a hoodie and my Red Sox hat made me feel cute. I truly feel I can be all of those adjectives you would use to describe a woman’s looks – just not all at the same time. What about you? Do you think a woman can be (or that YOU ARE) cute & sexy & pretty (and more?!). And explain the difference to me. I’m ready for a Monday morning lesson! XO

***UPDATE*** When stating that FF would call a little girl pretty, apparently I may have misspoken. FF doesn’t have a thing for little girls. Please don’t take it that way!

5 responses

  1. FF

    First off, I don’t refer to little girls as anything. Except maybe B.I.T. I said its what I hear most adults tell little girls they are. To prove my point, two nights later while picking up ur dress, u told the seamstresses daughter she was pretty TWICE!!! hence why I associate that word with that age group. Women are sexy, beautiful, and gorgeous not words that should ever be associated with little girls.

    October 18, 2010 at 10:05 am

    • Beth

      That’s funny

      October 18, 2010 at 8:56 pm

  2. Pretty is all about looks – cute is an attitude as well. Anybody can be pretty – it takes personality, sexiness and a sense of fun to be cute.

    And that being said, I’d classify you as beautiful, rather than pretty. Pretty is that bland, typical kind of look. You have something different going on, which puts you in the beautiful category, rather than merely ‘pretty.’

    October 18, 2010 at 4:32 pm

  3. All of the adjectives described indeed. That is the beauty of being a woman. We can be all or none… depending on our moods.

    October 19, 2010 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

