This is my blog…nacho blog

Shame…I Haz It

When I started this blog, I did so with the intent to talk about diabetes. I do talk about it but often in reference to other health concerns or because I’m frustrated. I feel like I don’t necessarily belong in the D Blogging community anymore. Like I have abandoned them. it’s a terrible feeling because while I do still read the blogs, I try to focus on the fact that there is so much more to me than diabetes. But in reality? Diabetes is much more a part of my life than I ever convey on this blog. FF knows it. He heard it every day. When I call him because my sugar is low and I need him to talk me out of eating everything I can get my hands on. When I wake him in the middle of the night because I’m too sweaty/groggy/dizzy to get some sugar into my body. When my belly is covered in bruises from injections and I just feel like I can’t take anymore.

So maybe I use this blog to escape that reality of my life & focus on other truths and issues. But the problem is, I want to educate. I want everyone to be more aware of diabetes. I want those who don’t understand the disease or know anything about it, to feel safe to ask questions. I want to eradicate ignorance. I don’t have diabetes because I ate too much sugar growing up. I don’t have diabetes because I am overweight. I will never outgrow diabetes. I can eat whatever I choose – but I also choose to eat a diet low in carbohydrates as to keep my insulin needs down. I read a lot of great blogs by fellow PWDs and I plan to start mentioning them more (maybe on Tumblr?). So for today, I’d like to give all of you who want to learn more about diabetes some great information. First, read this post by Allison, who so graciously guest posted on my Dia-versary. It brilliantly explains the difference between Type 1 & Type 2. Secondly, ask me questions. You can do it here in a comment or ask me on my Tumblr page. I will collect all the questions and answer them in a post next week. And ask me ANYTHING (diabetes related!) – if I don’t know the answer I vow to track it down. I also vow to write more about diabetes. Even if I feel it’s complaining, people who don’t have this disease will only understand it if it’s talked about. And next month is Diabetes Awareness Month so plan on a lot of writing about the topic then too. I look forward to your questions! XO

One response

  1. Steve Weinstock

    Don’t really have a question for you, but a comment – thanks for helping create awareness. I don’t have D, but I have been living with it for 11 years via my son (now age 13).

    So while I’m far from an expert, one of the biggest things I’d convey is: living with diabetes is both a science AND an art. The treatment is relatively straight forward, yet, everyone, every day, heck sometimes every hour is different (the art).

    Bottom line, someone once said any press is good press. Well, I believe exposure to diabetes in any form is good for the cause to one day bring a cure to Type 1 Diabetes.

    Keep rockin the fight!

    October 18, 2010 at 1:39 pm

Leave a Reply

