This is my blog…nacho blog

I’m Back Bitches – Time to Rejoice!!!!

Hey everyone!!!! Not even a week since I bid you all adieu and I am back. First off, big thanks to Midwestern Mama over at Are You Serious for providing me some serious support & motivation to get back to writing. I couldn’t have done it without her! Are you happy to see me back? Than make sure to pay her a visit and thank her personally! Also, I’ve received soooo much support on (as Betty White says) The Twitter. And the comments you guys left on The End entry made me so crazy/happy/sad I can’t even put it into words. I had no idea I’d touched so many people! I am humbled. And very blessed. Another thank you to Ms. Genina (my girlcrush!) for pumping me so full of positive energy I thought I would burst at the seams. And of course, a giant thank you to FF, who let me cry & be angry and share the ugly truths with him. Is this really my life?! How did I get so frickin lucky?! Speaking of lucky, that brings me to the meat of this post. Today is a marvelous day. To those who suffer from triskaidekaphobia, it may not seem it. But I think 13 may just be my new favorite number!

Today, my parent’s have accomplished a feat not many people can say anymore. They are celebrating 32 years of marriage! Isn’t that awesome?! I think so. You know what’s even cooler? They got married on FRIDAY the 13th! I tell people that’s how sis came along. Speaking of that. Sis has tried e-mail contact a few more times & even sent me a text last night that a mutual friend had her baby. I have not responded once. Not once! I am simply not ready. And for now, that’s the end of this discussion on the blog. But yes, my parent’s have had a long & happy marriage & I hope it continues, as it’s supposed to, until death do them part (many, many, MANY years from now please!). It’s seen it’s up & downs, twist & turns, trials & tribulations. But it’s survived. And they even are still affectionate which I love. So proud to be their daughter!

Also today, FF & I got the news we were waiting to hear. We knew we wanted to move. We wanted our own place. No roommate. We’ve been looking for weeks and on Friday after seeing lots of places that were definitely not the one, believe it or not, we fell in love with TWO places. Go effing figure! So we sat down and discussed at great lengths what our options were. We were choosing between a beautiful loft style one bedroom apartment in a building with lots of other apartments (but no neighbors on one side or underneath us) that had its own fitness facility (with hot tub & sauna) and indoor pool and a 2 bedroom townhouse with its own private beach access, bike path & bedroom balcony. We went for the two bedroom. I e-mailed the app on Monday and after much hoopla (as you know from Twitter) we were told this morning that our application was approved! We move in on November 1st. You can see what our place that we’re living in now looks like here and once we’re set up you will get a virtual tour of the new place – swearsies!

And lastly, but most definitely not least, today the Chilean miners are free. As I write this the 18th of 33 miners has just been brought to the surface after 69 days underground. There are no words for this moment but it is definitely a story to tell to generations of the future. As the granddaughter of a Canadian coalminer, I am very familiar with the dangers of mining. I am familiar with the fact that this ending? Is not typical. The joy in the faces of the miners & their families is something that I can’t convey to you in words. If you haven’t had a chance to watch the footage yet, make sure you do. BBC is steaming it live. I’ve had it up all day & I just continue to check in  – and cry tears of joy every time that capsule opens and the embraces ensue. Remember this day. And always remember how lucky we each are to awake to a new day. Even if it’s a shitty one. You never know the last time you’ll get to say goodbye, or I love you. XO

13 responses

  1. AND WERE BACK!!! 🙂

    October 13, 2010 at 2:12 pm

  2. I’m so glad to see you back and if I played even a minuscule part in that, then I say good for me…lol.
    Congrats to your parents.. and yeahy!!!! for the miners. I’m not watching it though. Im already in a “mood” and I would be a crying, blubbering fool if I watched it. Will see it on the new tonight.
    Again….. glad you’re back.. don’t leave us again!!

    October 13, 2010 at 2:15 pm

  3. Jaysey

    Excellent first post! Welcome back!

    October 13, 2010 at 2:19 pm

  4. YAY! So glad you are back. I missed your writing. Congrats on the apartment!

    October 13, 2010 at 2:19 pm

  5. Lin

    Congrats on deciding to come back to the blog world! I’d browsed your old blog a few time but am now looking forward to reading your new posts.

    Congrats on the apartment btw 😉

    October 13, 2010 at 2:50 pm

  6. Genina

    HI!!!

    Thanks for the mention! ❤ I am SO happy you're back, the blogging world wasn't the same without you. Also, this is the best blog name, EVER!!

    I will always remember this day, there's a lot to be thankful for.

    Thanks for being a great friend! T- 1 year! ❤

    xoxo
    G

    October 13, 2010 at 2:53 pm

  7. Glad you are back.. even tho I never got the chance to read your other blog… im glad you decided to do another and this one, i will read!

    October 13, 2010 at 3:20 pm

  8. Welcome back 🙂

    October 13, 2010 at 3:29 pm

  9. alliegresham

    Yay! You are back! I am so happy for you. Loves you girl!

    October 13, 2010 at 3:38 pm

  10. Welcome back. Good post! Looking forward to reading more. Love the new blog name!!

    October 13, 2010 at 5:00 pm

  11. Miranda

    Love this blog – I can just tell you are in such a happy, good and content place. And you’re so right about the miners…WOW. What a story. Congrats on the new place 🙂

    October 13, 2010 at 5:01 pm

  12. Pingback: Looking Back « Nachoblog's Blog

  13. Pingback: Midwestern Mama is Here!!! « Nachoblog's Blog

Leave a Reply

