This is my blog…nacho blog

It's coming!

My birthday is next week! I can’t believe it’s almost here. Eight days to go and then? I’m 30. Holy shit! I’m ready for it though. I’ve been talking myself into it since my 29th birthday last year. And again when FF turned 30 in January. And again at each of my friend’s 30th birthday parties. I won’t lie, my 25th birthday was amazingly hard. That was the first big birthday I had goals for. I always said I would be married, with a house, a career & possibly a family. I got married one month before I turned 25. I hadn’t graduated from college, I was less than a year into a data entry job and I rented a trailer for my house. Not exactly what I had seen for myself. Now that I’m rapidly approaching 30, I’m realizing my life has gone exactly as it should. Sure, I’ve experienced terror & heartache but without those? I would have no idea how lucky I am to be where I am in my life now! So I plan on spending the next 8 days celebrating me. Sounds selfish but, I don’t care! My birthday is the one time every year it’s ALL about me! I spend a lot of time celebrating friends. Celebrating birthdays, anniversaries, babies and weddings. And I love it, don’t get me wrong. I love that so many of friends have happy things happening in their lives. But sometimes, I want to be the center of attention. So I plan on discussing my plans for the big day (and the days that follow), what gifts I hope to get and what my goals are for my future. I want to compare where I’ve been to where I’m going. So I hope you’ll all enjoy. And if not, I’ll still be a happier person for doing it 🙂

Today, the birthday gifts! I don’t normally get a lot of presents for my birthday, and I’m ok with that. But I still like to put together a list every year just in case anyone asks what they can get me. So, I started a list on Kaboodle this year. I can take anything from the internet and put it on my wishlist! Fabulous! You can see the list in its entirety here but I’ll take you through some of my favorite items.

I’ve been going to the gym for the last 9 months! I think it’s safe to say I am now a gym rat. There are a few things I want that will help me with my workouts. Some new clothes (the green skirt from Old Navy? LURVE!) I also need some gloves for when I work with free weights (at least once a workout except for leg days) so I can make these stupid callouses go away. And this book called “This is Why You’re Fat.” Now, before you go jumping to conclusions, I don’t think I’m fat, and that’s not what the book is about. It gives ways to alter gym routines and playlists to keep boredom from setting in and I am in desperate need of some help in that area.

I love perfume. I think a part of it is because I’m a smoker but my love affair with fragrance started when I was young. I remember wearing Vanilla Fields and CK One religiously. I remember my first time wearing Perry Ellis 360 and how even today I save it for extra special occasions. I remember being bummed when some of my favorite fragrances were discontinued (Gap Om, Victoria’s Secret Exotic Bouquet and Bath & Body Works Wheatberry). I rarely buy actual perfume for myself. I like getting it as a gift. Whether because someone finds a particular scent that they think would smell good on me (I got VS Secret Crush one year and Love Spell for another. I absolutely LOVE both of these & still wear them to this day!) or because they know of my obsession. So this year I asked for refills of two of my favorites, Abercrombie 8 and Egyptian Musk. The Abercrombie scent is light & clean. The Egyptian Musk is a scent I’ve worn for about a decade now. It’s an essential oil and I love it but I have only ever been able to find it in a rollerball. I’ve always wished I could find it in a spray bottle. Well, a friend who also wears the scent found just that at Auric Blends. Plus my friend recommended another one of their scents that I am anxious to try, Love.

A couple miscellaneous items I’d like. A new Vera Bradley bag big enough to hold all my crap but not so big it would knock people out if I hit them with it. I’m partial to the Cupcakes Green pattern as it matches the cute mini wallet I got from FF for Christmas. Also, the Pioneer Woman cookbook…this is a must have right? Especially someone like me who has a cookbook fetish! And Bare Escentuals Mineral Veil? LOVE this stuff. It lasts all day and is neither matte nor shiny. It gives just a hint of sexy glow.

Some things more on the expensive side that I know not to count on? An ice cream maker for starters. I love ice cream. I also love experimenting. An ice cream machine would combine the two AND allow me to make substitutions for items such as sugar and milk so I don’t have to feel so guilty. I’d love a video camera too. The Ultra Flip is my dream one since it’s tiny. I’d love to take videos of my nephews or open mic nights. You never know when it would come in handy! This tub caddy? I have dreamed of this for  years. There would be nothing like taking a candlelit bath and having something to hold my glass of wine & book while I relax!

And my biggest wish for my birthday? An original Modern Bird piece. I still don’t know if I would get one of FF & I or my nephews but I’m dreaming of the day I get to pick out a picture and my colors and see the beautiful final piece.

So the pressure is on folks! Ok, ok no pressure at all. Lord knows I’m not all over the interwebs sending birthday gifts to my blog buddies and my tweeps (although I would if I was rich!). I already know what to expect from FF…he’s getting me a new tattoo! My 5th tattoo for my 30th birthday! I like it! He’s not about buying gifts. He’d rather provide an experience. For example, last year he took me to Fenway Park to see my very first Red Sox game! A weekend in Boston was wonderfully relaxing and we’d originally planned the same for this year but timing just wasn’t working. I’ll tell you more about what I’ve decided to get for my tattoo sometime soon XO

Leave a Reply

