This is my blog…nacho blog

A Friday Meme

I feel like I haven’t written a lot as of late. I’ll admit, Diabetes Blog Week wiped me out. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the experience immensely but it was so.much.work. I admire those of you that find something to write about every day – and the time to do it! Also, I started my new job two weeks ago and today is the last day I have with my mentor before she goes on vacation for 3 weeks – yikes! My brain is very tired and very sore! So, I will tell you that I am working very hard on posting my very first Vlog. I’ll be singing at an open mic night tomorrow night and as long as I can find someone to lend me a video camera, I’m hoping to post it over the long weekend. Also, I’m working on another post that I’ve been promising for quite some time – the story of FF and I. How we met, our unusual courtship and how I ultimately found a man I plan on spending the rest of my life with. As of Tuesday, we’ll have been living together for a year so I think the timing is appropriate to share that story with all of you. Although I worry that some of you will be jealous and try to steal him 🙂 So for today, I’m copying a Friday Five meme from Beacon Of Hope. Have a safe and happy Memorial Day Weekend to all of my American friends and to all you Canadian friends? Have a super weekend too! 

Who will you be thinking mostly about this Memorial Day? 
I will be thinking of the brave men & women who have left their families behind to fight for our country and for other countries to enjoy the freedoms we do. I will also be thinking of my friend Gordie, who is overseas now doing that very thing and whom I miss in such a way that I think my heart is a little broken. I’ll also be thinking of my friend Waggy. We’ll be celebrating at the beach on Monday and his absence (due to a fatal car accident in January) will be weighing heavily on all of our minds.

What are your Memorial Day traditions?
I don’t really have any traditions surrounding Memorial Day. As long as there is BBQ, I’m happy. Mom’s birthday sometimes falls on this weekend so sometimes we do a family thing – other times not. This year I’ll be attending a Memorial Day parade with Sis, BIL, BMan & JD – so exciting! 
How many graves do you usually visit on Memorial Day? 
It’s rare that I actually visit any graves on Memorial Day or on this weekend. I have been meaning to get out to my grandfather’s grave for a few weeks now and will probably do so within the next week. It is nice to drive by cemetaries this time of year and see all of the flags that stand for our fallen soldiers. Does that sound wierd? I mean, it’s a beautiful sight, not that it’s nice to see so many people have died. You’re welcome for the clarification 🙂 
What is one thing you hope to remembered for?
Wow – that’s a toughie. I suppose I want to be remembered for making a difference. I want to make a difference in the lives of people I know and love and I’d also like to make a difference on a global level. I’m not quite sure how I’m going to accomplish that, but I’ll figure it out! 🙂 I’d also like to be remembered as: saucy, caring, funny, honest, loyal and a little crazy 
Recipe of the Week (instead of your recipe for life, what is it just for this week?) 

So, apparently this is where I should put some words of wisdom I am currently living by. I’m choosing a great quote from Pink’s “Crystal Ball” that I’m considering as my next tattoo… 

“I’m learning to be brave in my beautiful mistakes. I’ve felt the fire and I’ve been burned but I wouldn’t trade the pain for what I’ve learned.”

Leave a Reply

