This is my blog…nacho blog

Let's Get Physical

So far, this week has been amazing! Diabetes Blog Week has put me in touch with so many D-blogs that I most likely wouldn’t have found otherwise. I’ve found new motivation to take better care of myself. Honestly, my sugars this week have been FABULOUS and I thank the D-OC for being the amazing support and motivation that they’ve been…and not only this week. Thanks again to Karen over at Bitter-Sweet for organizing this. I’m so proud to be a part if it. Now, on to today’s post.

Exercise . . . love it or hate it? Do you have a regular exercise routine? Or do you have trouble finding your exercise motivation? How do you manage your insulin and food to avoid bottoming out during your workout? Today is the day to tell us all about your exercise habits, or lack thereof.

If you would have asked me this a year ago, I would be completely lost as to what to write. I’ve ALWAYS hated exercise. I couldn’t understand the people that had the determination to and discipline to make regular trips to the gym. I didn’t enjoy running or any other sports. I wanted to be in shape. I wanted nice arms and great legs. I wanted tone and definition, but I didn’t really wanna work for it. Whaddya know, this is just one more thing that FF helped me with.

He’s been a gym nut for years. I went with him a few times last summer when I had time but it just wasn’t really my scene. Gyms are intimidating. You always size up who’s there. I went in feeling that I would never compare to the super athletic girls running on the treadmills and the guys with big guns just lifting insane amounts of weight? Kinda creepy. After BRE moved away for the winter, FF suggested I be his new workout partner. I laughed. I wanted to but I just didn’t see myself becoming a regular at the gym.

I’m immensely proud to say that almost six months later, I’m still going to the gym. Sometimes three times a week, sometimes four, or this week, one. I’m not nearly as dedicated as FF but I’m proud of how far I’ve come. My body has made some amazing changes and I’m in the best shape of my life. I start with a core workout and then move to lifting. FF designed a routine for me for all the different muscle groups I want to work on(biceps, triceps, shoulders, chest, back & legs). I don’t do much weight but it’s definitely made a difference. And now that tank top weather is here, people are noticing and that gives me even MORE motivation! I also try to get at least 10 minutes of cardio as often as possible (not much but better than none!).

So the big part of this is my insulin needs. Whether I was on my pump or not, I haven’t had a lot of issues with exercise induced lows. Because most of what I do is lifting, I actually see my numbers higher after the gym (they’ll drop about an hour after my workout is over). I always check my sugar before working out and decide if I need to correct with insulin or if I want to work off a high sugar on the treadmill. If while at the gym I start feeling not so hot, they have Tootsie Rolls and I’ll just grab one of those to tide me over. I haven’t had any serious incidents but I have made getting a new Medic Alert bracelet a priority as I’d like to start doing more exercise alone and I need people to be able to recognize quickly that I’m a PWD.

So, today’s post, not the most interesting thing I’ve written all week but definitely something I am most proud of. I still don’t necessarily enjoy exercise and I don’t love the gym but I do love my body right now and that definitely counts for something XO

Leave a Reply

