This is my blog…nacho blog

I can eat that!

I think today’s topic for Diabetes Blog Week is the thing I wrestle with the most – food.

Thursday 5/13 – To carb or not to carb. Today let’s blog about what we eat. And perhaps what we don’t eat. Some believe a low carb diet is important in diabetes management, while others believe carbs are fine as long as they are counted and bolused for. Which side of the fence do you fall on? What kind of things do you eat for meals and snacks? What foods do you deem bolus-worthy? What other foodie wisdom would you like to share?

In my whole life (until my diagnosis) I never once worried about what I ate. I was blessed with a slight frame and a speedy metabolism. The only issues I ever had with my weight were because people believed I had an eating disorder (but if you know me, you know that’s impossible. I LOVE food so I eat it every chance I get and I HATE throwing up so I avoid that whenever possible.). I’m not trying to boast here,  just proving that my eating habits left much to be desired.

I swear you could've found any of these things in my pre-diabetes diet. Hell, you'll still find most of them in my Diabetes diet!

I ate what I wanted, when and I wanted and how often I wanted to. Lunches in high school usually consisted of a bag of Doritos and a soda. Bad, I know but whatcha gonna do?

When my diagnosis came, I felt like an accident victim learning to walk again. I knew nothing about counting carbs or how fat effected their absorbtion. I didn’t know about ratios and corrections and how differently 60 grams of carbs in a bagel would react opposed to 60 grams from pasta. What was really difficult was the fact I was on what I like to refer to as a “Divorce Diet” immediately following my diagnosis. I didn’t want to eat (I am the exact opposite of an emotional eater. When I’m stressed or upset, the LAST thing I want is food. If it makes you feel any better though – I AM a boredom eater. Big time! And I get bored A LOT!). So controlling my sugars was easy and more often than not I was correcting a low and not correcting a high.

I did make a lot of changes though. I switched to whole grain, high fiber foods (mostly referring to breads and pastas). I already drank diet cola but I switched completely to diet soda. I went to a low carb milk (It actually says “dairy beverage” on the carton…wierd). I tried to incorporate a lot more protein and veggies. It was hard. I am now and have always been a carb freak – potatoes, bread, rice, cereal, potato chips – you name it, I wanted to shove it down my throat. I even drink low carb beer (Yay for Miller Lite and MGD 64! Side note: I will NOT bolus for alcohol. If I want to have a “Good beer” a.k.a microbrew, I must have it with a meal I am going to bolus for already. I cannot justify taking insulin so I can drink – but, to each their own).

Luckily FF lost all his weight by cutting way down on carbs so he’s helped me change my eating habits now that the “divorce diet” has long since vanished. Most of our meals consist of meat and veggies and I’ll have a carb 3-4 times a week (usually I’ll make one of those bags of Lipton Noodles & Sauce and split it up over a few meals). He doesn’t chastise me when I want carbs and he is far better at abstaining than I am. I make a quiche on the weekends and we altered the recipe to exclude crust and we use egg whites instead of whole eggs (it’s DELICIOUS!). Little changes can make a big difference.

I have to say my biggest issue with food though is people with a fully functioning pancreas that can’t mind their own business or are victims of complete and utter ignorance. I hate being asked, “Should you be eating that?” Or worse, “You shouldn’t be eating that.” WHAT THE EFF DO YOU KNOW?! Just because your pancreas works doesn’t mean 3 donuts are any better for you! EVERYONE should *think* about what they’re putting in their bodies and how not just the carbs, but the fat, calories, sodium and cholesterol affects their health. Everyone should be conscious of their food decisions. I just have to think about it a bit more because, well I have diabetes. The key is moderation. If I want cake or a cookie, I’ll have it. I’ll just remember that decision later when I want ice cream. It’s a sacrifice and a compromise but if it means staying healthy longer, I’m willing to do it.

Honestly, I could go on about this topic for days but I’ll leave you with what I have written because you probably have another 168 blogs to read. XO

4 responses

  1. Same! I can’t eat when I’m stressed either, but the pantry had better have a large padlock when I’m bored 😛

    May 14, 2010 at 12:19 am

  2. Pingback: Looking Back « Nachoblog's Blog

  3. When I initially commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and
    from now on whenever a comment is added I get 4 emails
    with the same comment. Is there a means you can remove me from that
    service? Cheers!

    October 7, 2014 at 3:23 am

Leave a Reply

