This is my blog…nacho blog

My Support

Day 3 of Diabetes Blog Week and I am having so much fun! Have I thanked you yet Karen? This is gonna be a long post because I have a lot of people to thank. Please don’t play the music to get me off stage – not gonna work because these people are owed a BIG thank you!

Your Biggest Supporter. Sure, our diabetes care is ultimately up to us and us alone. But it’s important to have someone around to encourage you, cheer you, and even help you when you need it. Today it’s time to gush and brag about your biggest supporter. Is it your spouse or significant other? Your best friend, sibling, parent or child? Maybe it’s your endo or a great CDE? Or perhaps it’s another member of the D-OC who is always there for you? Go ahead, tell them just how much they mean to you!

To me, support comes in many different ways. Let me count them for you 🙂

1.) My team of doctors: As a diabetic, I have a SLEW of doctors. PCP, Endo and CDE (Certified Diabetes Educator) for starters. I love those three women. My PCP saw me through my diagnosis and I still can call her any time I have a question. My CDE and I had a fabulous relationship from the get go and we even e-mail. Yeah, she’s awesome (side note: I actually e-mailed her today about Diabetes Blog Week – she’s impressed. And sharing the link!) My endo is also fabulous. I have other doctors too, of course. I have an eye doctor, a gyno, a dentist etc. but they don’t see me often enough to know me well and pretty mush assume I either know nothing about diabetes or take shitty care of myself. I should work on finding some new ones.

2.) My family – I don’t have enough nice things to say about my family and the support they give me. Whether it’s sitting next to me in the ER while I get rehydrated (aka Jumpstart) or accompanying me to scary doctors appointments (is being scared of the doctor normal at 30?!). Its taking care of me when I’m sick or helping to keep me out of the hospital one.more.time. It’s learning what I need and how my body reacts. Sis obviously has a handle on this. Mom and Dad are still learning – but then again, so am I. I wouldn’t have made it this far without my family. The diagnosis itself was devastating but to be left by your husband immediately after, HEARTBREAKING. And who was there to pick up the pieces and put me back together again? My family and I am so gracious and humbled by their love and support.

3.) FF – I’d have to say he’s my BIGGEST supporter. While my family kind of HAS to deal with it (my mom has a funny saying about having to love and take care of each other, “because it’s the law.” It might sound bad to some but I still find it funny – and true!) FF does it because he loves me, cares about me and wants me around for a long time (not that my family doesn’t – it’s just a different dynamic). His caring comes in ALL forms. From reminding me to check my sugar (because he can tell by my mood if I’m soaring sky high), to swinging by the drugstore to pick up insulin, to making me a pb sandwich or grabbing a juice box when I’m low and need help. It’s reminding me to grab strips or needles from under the sink to refill my kit. It’s offering advice on what new Medic Alert bracelet or diabetic supply bag I want. It’s changing my Pod (when I was on one) for me because I can’t reach the new site. But the real kicker, I can tell him ANYTHING. I can bounce ideas off him (Should I go on Symlin? What do you think of a CGM?). I can be frustrated (why am I so high again? Am I getting sick? What if this never gets better?!). I can cry, bitch and moan (why me?) and he always has the right answer – even when I don’t know what I’m looking for. Luckily (well kind of but not really) his mom is a diabetic and when she was diagnosed he did all the research he could. So when I came along, he wasn’t scared of what it meant to date someone with diabetes. He had an arsenal of knowledge already. As a matter of fact, on our first date he made me dinner – completely carb free (story coming soon – I promise!) swoon! He’s there when I laugh about diabetes and he’s there to hold me on those occasions where I just want to cry (and I do – A LOT!) I had a breakdown just this past weekend about becoming a mother (working on a post about this too – and no, I’m NOT pregnant). Do I want to have children? Will I be able to? And he listened…REALLY listened. Not once did he tell me I was silly (because he does tell me when I’m being silly) he just rubbed my leg, heard me out and said, “I understand.” The validation was exactly what I needed. He claims he’s always two steps ahead of my thinking and although that can’t be easy to do, he’s right. I couldn’t imagine anyone loving me this much and not just aside from the diabetes but sometimes because of it. He credits me when I can’t find the courage to see how far I’ve come since my diagnosis. He reminds me that three years isn’t a long time and I shouldn’t be so hard on myself all the time. But he’s also there to remind me how important it is that I take proper care of myself and not in a guilty way but in an, “I love you and I want you in my life for a long time” kind of way.

So that’s my support. It comes in all forms – mental support, emotional support and physical support. Without my doctors, my family and FF I don’t know that I could find the strength for this. And now, I have the D-OC to lean on too! I am tremendously thankful to each and every one of you. I am learning so much from all of you. It’s nice to be supported by people who are going through exactly what I am and offer words of advice and encouragement. I would mail you all a thank you card if I could (but diabetes supplies are expensive and I don’t have your addresses). So please consider this a giant hug from me to all of me new D-OC friends. I don’t know how I made it this far without you! XO

10 responses

  1. Lorraine

    Hugs back to you!

    May 12, 2010 at 11:39 am

  2. I love that you have so many people listed. 🙂 It takes so many people to support us. I’m glad you have a strong team around you.

    May 12, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    • Thanks Cara! I couldn’t do this without a single one of them 🙂

      May 12, 2010 at 1:13 pm

  3. Hooray for support! (Why is it when I say this, all I can think of is bras?) I’m weird.

    But for real, it’s such a blessing to have a good support system.

    May 12, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    • No worries – I was thinking “athletic supporter” the whole time. hahahahaha

      May 12, 2010 at 1:13 pm

  4. k2

    “If you can’t be an athlete, be an athletic supporter!” Principle McGee GREASE
    http://www.entertonement.com/clips/ftqtqykcrr–If-you-can't-be-an-athlete-be-an-athletic-supporterGrease-Eve-Arden-Principal-McGee-

    Great post!
    kelly k

    May 12, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    • This is EXACTLY what I was thinking of Kelly! Thanks!

      May 13, 2010 at 7:55 am

  5. I’m so glad you are having fun with Diabetes Blog Week!!! And to think, I was afraid everyone would think it was a stupid idea and no one would sign up!!! Silly me!!!

    I’m so glad you have such a vast and wonderful support system. I can’t imagine dealing with everything we deal with if we didn’t have people around who love and support us. 🙂

    May 15, 2010 at 12:45 pm

  6. Pingback: Retail

Leave a Reply

