This is my blog…nacho blog

Weekend Recap

Sorry I haven’t written for a while. Does anyone care? Or notice? Kidding! 🙂 In all reality I write this blog for me. I have found it incredibly therapeutic and I thank those of you that do read. I’ve had an amazing last few days and I’m gearing up for some dark ones in the ohsoclose future.

On Friday I had some family in town from Nova Scotia. I haven’t seen them in years or ever met their children (who are 8 & 10 – I think?). It was great to catch up and spend time with ALL the family that was there. FF & Bman continued their bonding (oh my gosh, soooo cute. I have some pics. I’ll post em if you’re lucky!) I got to see some other family I haven’t seen in a few months (and the little ones remembered FF’s name but not mine – why is he the popular one?!). After a nice dinner outside we headed home to unwind from a long week.

I worked my last shift at the restaurant on Saturday. It was not sad or bittersweet…it was effing long – and boring! It was my first shift in 3 weeks and it was one of the slowest shifts you can get. When my boss came in at 3, I let him know he could watch the bar because I was ready to go home. He agreed! So I went home and FF headed to a friend’s house for a BBQ. We had great food, great company and met some new people. Then we headed for open mic night – which I bombed. A little too much alcohol at the BBQ was not a great idea. A lot of people think you’d sing better if you were drunk. Um, hello – do you ever go to karaoke?! Most of the time those people need liquid courage to get up and sing – how often is it good? Really. Anyway, I was glad I did it but also glad I couldn’t track down a video camera to record the open mic. I promise to do this soon though – when I know it’s going to be good (although FF really liked my rendition of “The Sound of White” by Missy Higgins. I swoon when he compliments my talent!).

Sunday was lazy for the most part. We knew BRE was going to be home sometime that afternoon. We got up and hit the back deck right off. It was sunny and gorgeous. We played cards and ate breakfast. Then we headed out for groceries because we invited some people over for a BBQ to celebrate BRE’s return. We came back home and had a couple cocktails while playing cribbage. BRE and friends got home about 6. We ate and chatted and had a pretty quiet night (well, as far as the DZ is concerned!). It was a relaxing weekend but just busy enough for me. It was also good prep for the days ahead…

Tomorrow is the three year anniversary of my diabetes diagnosis. I refer to it as D-Day. I went through a lot during those first few days as a PWD. I also became separated from my (ex)husband and discovered I was going to be an aunt. I was shaken down at my core and I was in a place emotionally that I vow never to enter again. Tomorrow I will post my D-Day story – details about how we discovered that I had it and the emotional fallout that ensued. Because I look at this diagnosis now as something that strengthened me and taught me so much, I am celebrating this anniversary and not wallowing. I have asked some of my favorite Diabetes Blog authors to guest post their diagnosis stories. So look for that and more in the upcoming days. I also have to say that it’s National Infertility Week and although I don’t know personally the struggle and emotions related to infertility I know a lot of amazing people who have wrestled with it (or still are wrestling with it!) and I do know what its like to feel like your body is betraying you. For more information on National Infertility Week, follow the #infertility trending topic on Twitter or check out my friend Jenny’s blog. Until tomorrow….XO

Leave a Reply

